Makeup Artist Licensing in Wisconsin
Wisconsin Makeup Artist License Requirements
Are you looking for information about Wisconsin makeup license requirements and how you can prepare for a career in this colorful world of beauty? If so, here’s the skinny on what you need to know…
There isn’t a makeup license Wisconsin designates just for professionals who apply makeup for compensation. To work as a makeup artist, you can either obtain your cosmetologist or esthetician’s license in Wisconsin. However, you should still review make up focused programs that can give you the detailed knowledge and specialty skills that will set you apart in the field of makeup.
Each path has its own unique qualities and benefits for students. Esthetician requirements tend to be less than cosmetologists when it comes to hours clocked in training. This is the most relevant program type for prospective makeup artists, with its focus on head and neck techniques and facial science skills. They will both have makeup courses – but not to the extent as a program geared specifically toward makeup.
To compare make up artist programs to cosmetology and esthetician training, use these links to dig deeper:
Are you ready to talk with makeup schools in your area about training and licensure? Contact the schools in our directory in your area today!
Education Requirements to Get a Makeup Artist License in Wisconsin
If you contact all the schools in your area, you may realize there are a variety of curriculum styles you can choose from. Some will offer courses on a one-off basis, while others may offer a set curriculum with a full range of topics in makeup art.
Wisconsin makeup courses:
• Color theory
There are many types of makeup artist schools with their own unique ways of approaching training and designing course offerings. There are many considerations to make, in addition to the makeup artist courses in a school catalog. You should make sure your life schedule fits with the expectations of the program. For instance, if you work during the day, make sure they offer night or weekend classes. Also look into length of program, cost and financial aid options available.
How to Get a Makeup Artist License Renewed in Wisconsin
No matter which path you take towards earning your makeup license, you will need to understand the relevant renewal process to continue working legally in the state.
Starting in 2015, estheticians and cosmetologists are required to complete 4 hours of continuing education credits. 3 in the area of safety, sanitation, and infection control, and 1 in laws governing the barbering and cosmetology professions.
Individuals with either of these forms of licensure must renew by March 31st of every odd year. The renewal fee is $82 or $107 if it’s late.
Ready to spark your career as a makeup artist in Wisconsin? Contact the schools in our directory to compare programs and design your path towards makeup training and licensure!
Find Make-Up Artist Training Programs in Wisconsin
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.