Oregon Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Oregon
If you live in Oregon, you probably already know how eclectic and funky the beauty community of Oregon is. The people of Oregon tend to be very creative and open-minded when it comes to their appearance, which makes this a really fun state for beauty professionals. If you want to turn your love of beauty into a career, earning an Oregon state cosmetology license is the first step.
If you plan on working in Oregon with your license, you have to go through the process outlined by the Oregon Board of Cosmetology. If you have a beauty license in another state, you may be able to transfer it to Oregon through the Board of Cosmetology. When looking at beauty schools near you, make sure you only consider schools that are approved by the Board of Cosmetology, since this is an important licensing requirement.
All approved schools in this state must cover the following topics in their curriculum:
• Anatomy and physiology of head and scalp
• Hair and scalp treatments
• Cutting and styling
• Chemical procedures
• Chemical texturing
• Hair coloring
• Hair lightening
• Tools and items
• Safe usage of devices
• Regulations and standards
When applicable, your education should cover theory and hands-on work. So, you may spend a handful of hours learning about haircutting techniques in the classroom and follow it with hundreds of hours of haircutting practice.
Oregon Cosmetology License Requirements
Before you consider taking on clients independently and calling yourself a cosmetologist, you must meet all of the requirements for a cosmetology license in OR. These requirements are extremely specific, so you should be able to move through the process fairly quickly. You may take your licensing tests once your training is complete. With a passing score on your written test and your skills test, you can get your license.
Keep reading to learn about the fees and expectations in Oregon:
• $35 fee for laws test and $35 fee for hair design test
• Fees paid by credit card, check, money order, or cashier’s check
• $20 application fee and $25 licensing fee
• 2300 hours of training required
Your license can help you gain your customers’ trust and show them that you are completely qualified to work on their appearance. When everyone meets the same licensing expectations in Oregon, the industry gets stronger and becomes more respected everywhere.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Oregon
When you have your Oregon cosmetology license in hand, make it a priority to keep it valid and up-to-date. This means following the renewal requirements for a cosmetology license in Oregon. You must renew your license every two years by the last day of your original month of licensure. Renewal fees range from $40 to $45, depending on whether you renew your license in person or online.
Continuing education is not technically required in Oregon, but you may find that it is difficult to keep up on the industry and new trends without continuing education. You may take ongoing training courses through your salon or your beauty school.
Find Cosmetology Programs in Oregon
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.