North Dakota Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in North Dakota
Perhaps you’ve thought about working in the beauty industry before and you simply haven’t made the big move yet, or maybe you aren’t sure which type of beauty license will give you the experience you want. A North Dakota cosmetology license is the most flexible option, since it gives you the skills you need to work with hair, nails, and skin.
Your beauty career can start at the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology, where the licensing standards and training expectations for beauty professionals are created and upheld.
You must complete a minimum amount of training hours required by the State Board of Cosmetology, divided into the following subjects:
• Hair shaping (250 hours)
• Hair styling (250 hours)
• Nails (100 hours)
• Facials (100 hours)
• Chemical services (250 hours)
• Theory, law, and sanitation (400 hours)
• Related subjects (450 hours)
Related subjects refers to a pretty broad area. This freedom lets each school choose topics that are relevant to their students and that their students will need to succeed in their chosen area of practice. You may learn about specific hairstyles, new products and tools, customer service, salon management, applying for jobs, or any other topic that is considered applicable to cosmetology.
North Dakota Cosmetology License Requirements
By the time you finish your training, you should be extremely familiar with the requirements for a cosmetology license in ND. This can save you time when you are ready to take your tests and get your license.
Be ready to pay the following fees and meet the following requirements when you go to get your license:
• $70 exam fee; $60 laws and statutes exam fee
• May pay fees by credit card, money order, cashier’s check, or company check
• 1800 hours of training required
• Tests administered by PSI
The more you know about how to get a beauty license in North Dakota, the more quickly you can get your forms submitted and start working. The licensing process is an important part of cosmetology practice in North Dakota, since it ensures that all practitioners in the industry have the same amount and quality of training. This protects hard working cosmetologist like you from answering for the mistakes of less qualified beauty professionals.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in North Dakota
The renewal process in North Dakota is a little bit stricter than it is in most other states. Most states have a two-year renewal cycle, but the state of North Dakota requires you to renew your license every year. Make sure to have your renewal application submitted by December 31 to avoid paying a late fee. The current renewal fee is set at $15.
Although you do have to renew every year, you don’t have to complete any continuing education to keep your license valid. By following this process and sticking to other state of North Dakota cosmetology license requirements, you can avoid extra fees or delays in your career.
With the right training, you can make a huge difference to people in your community.
Find Cosmetology Programs in North Dakota
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.