Minnesota Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Minnesota
If you walk down the streets of the Twin Cities, you’ll see dozens of different hairstyles, hair textures, and hair colors represented. Minnesota is full of people who want to look their best, whether they live in one of the state’s farming communities, a suburban area, or a large metropolitan area. If you have ever considered a career in the world of beauty, earning an MN cosmetology license is the first goal you have to reach.
Whenever you go to the salon, you’ve probably noticed that cosmetologists have their licenses displayed on their mirrors. This is because cosmetologists must be licensed in all 50 states plus the District of Columbia. However, the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners sets its own training and licensing expectations for this state.
As you complete the required training hours at an approved school, you are required to complete training in the following subject areas, listed with the mandated amount of training hours:
• Shampooing (350 hours)
• Scalp and hair conditioning (230 hours)
• Hair design and shaping (225 hours)
• Chemical hair control (260 hours)
• Hair coloring (150 hours)
• Hair styling (500 hours)
• Facials and makeup (260 hours)
• Manicures (200 hours)
• Anatomy and physiology, plus other areas of theory (420 hours)
Anatomy and physiology, cosmetology law, and other areas of theory are covered in the first part of your training, which is spent in the classroom. From there, plan on spending almost all of your student time on the salon floor. By completing clinical exercises, working with mannequin heads, and working with real clients, you can build up a strong skill set.
Ready to find out how you can earn a Minnesota cosmetology license? Check out our list of Minnesota beauty schools below and contact schools near you.
Minnesota Cosmetology License Requirements
Once you’ve completed the required training, you have to go through a few more steps to get your cosmetology license. These steps include passing written and practical exams, paying a variety of fees, and submitting proof of your training to the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology Examiners.
Keep these requirements in mind as you get close to the end of your education:
• $150 expedited license fee if you wish to get your license more quickly
• Fees paid by check or money order to BCE
• $195 initial licensing fee
• 1550 training hours must be completed prior to examination
• Exams administered by PSI and available in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Korean
When you have a license, you can begin working independently and enjoying the benefits of licensure in Minnesota. Licensing makes the job application process easier and can help you get clients in your chair while you are still developing your reputation.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Minnesota
Meeting the requirements for a cosmetology license in Minnesota is a big accomplishment that can pay off for years to come. However, you still must stay up-to-date on changes in the industry and licensing expectations. One of the benefits of working in Minnesota is the fact that the renewal period is considerably longer than it is in other states.
To keep your license valid in Minnesota, you must renew with every three years by the last day of your birth month. During each renewal period, you must complete four hours of continuing education. When you submit your renewal application, you also have to pay a fee of $115. If you renew late, you will have to add $45 to that fee.
By contacting beauty schools in Minnesota, you can find out how to get a beauty license in Minnesota and when you can get started.
Find Cosmetology Programs in Minnesota
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.