Colorado Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Colorado
Everyone wants to look their best, right? Everyone wants to look great, but there are plenty of people who don’t quite know how to bring out their best features and take their look to the next level. If you use your free time trying new nail art designs, playing with your hair and your friends’ hair, and reading beauty magazines, a CO cosmetology license is just what you need to start a new career.
You can compare different Colorado beauty schools with our list of schools below. The curriculum of each program should meet the standards set out by the Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure.
This includes finishing at least 1800 training hours, which must include the specialized training topics listed here:
• Sanitation, sterilization, and safety (45 hours)
• Permanent waving/relaxing (250 hours)
• Hairstyling (250 hours)
• Massage, skin care, and makeup (100 hours)
• Shampoo and scalp treatments (75 hours)
• Hair coloring and bleach (225 hours)
• Haircutting (225 hours)
• Manicures and pedicures (75 hours)
• Artificial nails (135 hours)
• Laws and regulations (25 hours)
• Management and ethics (25 hours)
• Occupational safety and health (20 hours)
You can also earn a Colorado state cosmetology license by attending an approved program that awards credits. Each credit hour reflects 30 clock hours, which means that you need to earn 60 credits to qualify for licensure.
Reaching out to schools near you is a great way to find out what your options are and how you can start preparing for your new career.
Colorado Cosmetology License Requirements
On top of the training you must complete, there are other requirements for a cosmetology license in CO. The Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure charges the following fees and standards for applicants:
• Practical testing fee of $71 and written testing fee of $56
• Payments accepted by MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and Discover
• No license application fee
• No apprenticeship hours accepted in Colorado; must complete 60 credit hours or 1,800 clock hours
• All payments and registration documents are accepted by PSI
At first glance, the licensing process may seem fairly intricate and demanding. However, it meets the high standards of the state of Colorado. When used improperly, cosmetology tools and chemicals can cause burns, disfiguration, or injury.
This is just one of the reasons that licensing is so important to this industry. When you have your cosmetology license in your hand, you can proudly show it to customers and employers and be proud of the work you’ve done.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Colorado
Colorado has stricter renewal requirements than many other states, so it’s important to keep on top of the renewal schedule and fee schedule. While most states run on a two-year renewal cycle, Colorado requires you to renew your license by April 30 every year. Currently, the renewal fee is $32. There are no continuing education requirements to renew your Colorado cosmetology license, but continuing education can help you provide the services your customers want and make you a more valuable asset to Colorado employers.
Find Cosmetology Programs in Colorado
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.