Alabama Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Alabama
Cosmetology is one of the most exciting beauty careers in Alabama. Think about it—as a cosmetologist, you can provide hair, nail, and skin services! If you want to master a huge variety of skills in the beauty industry, spending your time earning a cosmetology license can help you start the career you’ve always wanted.
As a field, cosmetology is regulated by each state. In Alabama, the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering oversees the education, testing, and licensing of beauty professionals. Before you can qualify for a cosmetology license in this state, you must complete a curriculum of no fewer than 1,500 training hours.
During your 1,500+ hours, you may spend time in the classroom, working with mannequin heads, and working with real clients. No matter which school you attend, the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering requires you to go through specific courses.
As a student or apprentice, you must complete coursework in the following subject areas:
• Sanitation, sterilization, and allied sciences
• Skin care and makeup
• Manicures and nail care
• Coloring and bleach
• Shampoos and rinses
• Hair cutting
• Hair styling
• Permanent waving
This leaves some wiggle room for schools to focus on other skills and techniques with their remaining hours.
Depending on the cosmetology school you choose, you may study subjects like these:
• Client consultation
• Professional image
• Time management
• Salon procedures and culture
Alabama Cosmetology License Requirements
The Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering requires you to complete all of your training hours before you apply to take the written and practical exams. Once you submit your application, pay your testing fees, and pay your licensure fee, you can register for your exam. Passing this exam allows you to earn your initial cosmetology license.
The Board of Cosmetology and Barbering has the following requirements and guidelines for cosmetology students:
• Must apply for exams within 120 days of completing your education or apprenticeship
• $100 written testing fee and $120 practical testing fee
• May pay via money order, cashier’s check, or business check
• May take test three times; if you fail the third time, the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering may require you to complete additional training hours
• $40 fee for a new license; $75 fee for apprentices
• 3,000 apprenticeship hours may be completed in place of the required 1,500 cosmetology training hours
This process is an important part of protecting the field of cosmetology in Alabama. When cosmetologists are required to prove their skills and maintain a license, customers can feel safe trusting a cosmetologist with their safety and their appearance.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Alabama
Licenses must be required every even-numbered year by the last day of your birth month. Renewing a personal license costs $80. You must make sure that your renewal application is sent before the end of the month, since applications postmarked after the last day of your birth month are subject to an additional $50 fee.
By law, no license is valid for more than two years. This means that you will need to renew your license in the first even-numbered year after getting your initial license, no matter how recently you got your initial license. No continuing education hours are required.
Find Cosmetology Programs in Alabama
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.