Cosmetology Instructor Training in West Virginia
If you wish to leave an impact on other cosmetology students by passing your knowledge on to them, then you should consider cosmetology instructor training in West Virginia. Although it is one state that does not require a set number of hours, a cosmetology educator program will leave you feeling confident to teach other students. You will learn how to create daily coursework that is most beneficial to the students’ learning, in addition to learning how to properly demonstrate techniques you have mastered while in the cosmetology field.
Licensing Requirements for Cosmetology Instructors in West Virginia
In order to get your license to teach cosmetology in West Virginia, you must first hold a West Virginia cosmetology license. You can either get a license by reciprocity or by training. Before you can apply to become a cosmetology instructor you must have completed 1,800 hours of training at a board approved cosmetology school and have a valid cosmetology license.
West Virginia’s Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists will grant you a cosmetology instructor license after you have completed a three part exam with a passing grade of no less than 80 percent. This exam will test you on your professional knowledge, state law for cosmetology and your ability to demonstrate a lesson plan lasting 15 minutes. West Virginia also requires you have five years of licensed, salon work experience under your belt
Employment Opportunities in West Virginia
Charleston is at the top of the list when it comes to fun places to work in the West Virginia beauty industry. Other cities that offer plentiful work for both instructors and beauticians include Parkersburg, Morgantown and Beckley. Martinsburg is a smaller town; however it is growing in both job opportunities and population. Once you have received your license, you are eligible to teach in beauty schools, hold seminars for continued education cosmetologists and work on the state board.