Home Cosmetology and Beauty Schools by State Utah Cosmetology and Beauty Schools Massage Therapy Schools and Programs in Utah

Massage Therapy Schools and Programs in Utah

Utah offers a pleasant and lovely atmosphere for the pursuit of a massage therapy license, and BeautySchools.com has compiled the Web’s most extensive list of schools that offer massage therapy.   In Utah, massage therapy schools are, at a minimum 600 hours, which is the required amount of school training in order to become licensed.  You can typically finish the program in as little as seven months if you are a full-time student.  If you choose to enroll as a part-time student, you can expect to finish in 12 months.  During your coursework, you will take classes that focus on anatomy, physiology and different massage techniques such as Swedish deep tissue massage and Chinese medicine treatments.

Find Massage Therapy Programs in Utah

Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

Provo, UT
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Barbering / Massage Therapy / Hair Design
Brigham City, UT
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Massage Therapy
Salt Lake City, UT
Massage Therapy
Salt Lake City, UT
Massage Therapy
St. George, UT
Massage Therapy / Continuing Education
School Accreditation

You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.

In addition, you will take professional development and business courses to prepare you to work with clients.  According to a recent massage therapy study conducted by Massage Today, the culture of massage therapy and the positive client-therapist relationship is a top factor for continued use of massage therapy.  This is why taking courses that focus on professional development is so essential.

Learn About the Massage Therapy Licensing Requirements in Utah

Once you have completed your 600 hours in an accredited massage therapy school you will be required to obtain 1,000 hours of supervised training in order to receive a license. After your supervised training hours are completed, you will need to successfully pass an examination testing your knowledge of Utah laws and statutes. Once these requirements are met, you will need to take either the NCETMB or MBLEX, both nationally recognized massage therapy exams.  In Utah, the application fee for a massage therapy license is $100 and you are responsible for renewing it every two years.

We recommend you also consider joining the Utah Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association in order to grow professionally.  It will also allow you to stay informed on its sponsored continued education opportunities.

Job and Employment Outlook for Massage Therapists in Utah

In Utah, massage therapist earn an excellent annual salary of $37,360 a year, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. There is expected to be a 20 percent increase in the demand for massage therapists in the future. Currently, there are about 900 massage therapists employed in Utah. If you aspire to someday run your own practice, you  may wish to learn more about educational and private practice opportunities available in Utah.