Home Cosmetology and Beauty Schools by State North Dakota Cosmetology and Beauty Schools Cosmetology Instructor Training in North Dakota

Cosmetology Instructor Training in North Dakota

In North Dakota, you can become a cosmetology instructor much more quickly than most other states and are eligible to become licensed after one year of cosmetology work experience and 160 completed hours from an accredited cosmetology school.  During your cosmetology instructor program, you will learn how to effectively teach aspiring cosmetologists in a way that sets them up best for passing the state board exam.

Find Teacher Training Programs in North Dakota

Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

Williston, ND
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Teacher Training
School Accreditation

You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.

You will be given the training necessary to feel confident in preparing lesson plans, performing demonstrations during lectures and assisting student with clients on the floor.  Depending on if you choose to attend a cosmetology instructor program full or part-time, you can finish your training in as little as three weeks.

Licensing Requirements for Cosmetology Instructors in North Dakota

The North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology issues licenses for cosmetologists and cosmetology instructors in the state. In order to become an instructor, you must first be cosmetologist. You can get a cosmetology license in North Dakota, or you can get one by reciprocity if you hold one in another state.

To get a North Dakota cosmetology license by training, you have to be 18 years old; have obtained your GED or high school diploma and have completed 1800 hours of training. You have to then pass your NIC written exam, your North Dakota Sanitation Practices Test, your North Dakota State Practical Exam and your test in North Dakota State Cosmetology Law.

Once you’re a licensed cosmetologist, you can apply for instructor’s licensure by filling out a very short application, paying the instructor’s license fee of $35, and taking the instructor’s exam. The instructor’s exam fee is $55. Once you pass that exam, the board will issue you an instructor’s license.

Employment Opportunities in North Dakota

If you have an interest in working in the beauty industry, but would like to earn more than the standard of $22,500 many cosmetologists earn annually, according to the BLS, then working as an instructor might be just right for you. According to the BLS, instructors earn more than double what practitioners do, at $53,920 every year. In addition, the cost of living in North Dakota is very low.  You can find employment opportunities at area beauty schools, in community colleges with cosmetology programs or working for the state licensing board.