Nail Technician Licensing in Wyoming
Wyoming Nail Technician License Requirements
If you’re serious about a career in cosmetology, it’s important to learn about nail technician licensing in Wyoming. This process carefully outlines the steps you must take and the skills you need to work as a nail technician. The Wyoming Board of Cosmetology sets all state requirements, making it easy for students like you to get started in this field.
Why is licensing so important for nail technicians? Those who work in this field work with tools and chemicals that can be dangerous if used improperly. This can cause serious harm to clients.
By holding all professionals to the same training standards, the cosmetology industry can strengthen its reputation and help customers find highly trained beauty professionals.
Wyoming Nail License Fees and Hours
• $75 testing fee
• $48 licensing fee
• Fees payable by money order or cashier’s check
• 400 training hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Wyoming
Finding a nail technology program is the first part of earning a license. Schools must provide theory education and hands-on practical training. Licensed Wyoming schools meet the following training standards.
Required WY Nail Tech License Courses
• 65 hours: Anatomy, physiology, nail structure, nail disease, and nail analysis
• 65 hours: Theory of nail technology skills, including manicuring, pedicuring, using an electric file, massage, acrylic nails, tips, wraps, gels, exfoliation, and disinfection
• 200 hours: Application of nail technology skills, including skills listed above and electric file use, acrylic nails, sculptured nails, and tips with overlay
• 50 hours: Professional standards
• 10 hours: Wyoming law
• 10 hours: Discretionary topics
The time you spend in school helps you perfect your skills, learn about the beauty industry, and become more efficient in your work.
Find out more about your training options by contacting nail tech schools below.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Wyoming
After you get your initial license, you are ready to start working. Your first license is valid for one year, and renewal documents must be submitted by the final day of your original month of licensure.
After that, renewal occurs every two years in your birth month. The renewal fee is $96. Currently, Wyoming does not require any continuing education, but it is still important to keep your skills relevant and up-to-date.
Now that you know how to get a nail tech license in WY, you are ready to start building a career you love.
Browse local programs below and reach out to nail tech schools in Wyoming for more information.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Wyoming
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.