Nail Technician Licensing in Wisconsin
Wisconsin Nail Technician License Requirements
Whether a client wants a sheer nail polish that gives a little shine to their natural nails, a full set of acrylic nail tips, or intricate nail art, you can meet their expectations as a nail technician. To take on the role of manicurist, you must earn a Wisconsin nail license.
This process is regulated by the Wisconsin Cosmetology Examining Board. They choose the training hours, required tests, and renewal timeline that they believe best strengthen the beauty industry and improve the customer experience.
Be ready to meet the licensing standards below before starting your career.
Nail Tech Licensing in WI Fees and Hours
• $391 testing fee
• $10 temporary license fee
• Fees payable by credit card, check, or money order
• 300 training hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Wisconsin
Getting the proper training is a huge part of succeeding as a nail technician. The 300 hours you spend in beauty school must tackle specific theory topics, skills, and techniques.
While some of your time is spent on theory, keep in mind that most of your training should be hands-on. Licensed schools follow the state-provided curriculum outline.
Courses Taught at Nail Tech Schools
• 36 hours: Law and codes
• 35 hours: Safety, sanitation, sterilization, and bacteriology
• 34 hours: Nail and skin disorders
• 26 hours: Anatomy and physiology
• 136 hours: Manicuring and pedicuring
• 12 hours: Advertising
• 21 hours: Individual student needs and electives
This outline helps you gain the skills you need for your day-to-day work. It also provides students with plenty of experience with topics that are covered in state licensing tests.
Use the list of schools below to find a nail technician training program that’s right for you.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Wisconsin
After learning how to get a nail tech license in Wisconsin and starting your career, your main responsibility is maintaining your license through renewal. In Wisconsin, renewal documents are due by March 31 in every odd-numbered year. The renewal fee is $82. If you renew late, plan on paying a $107 renewal fee.
During each renewal cycle, you must get four hours of continuing education. One hour must relate to Wisconsin licensing laws and three hours must relate to safety, sanitation, and infection control.
With a Wisconsin nail technician license, you can work in hair salons and nail salons across the state. It’s easy to get started today.
Use the list of schools below to contact programs near you.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Wisconsin
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.