Nail Technician Licensing in Vermont
Vermont Nail Technician License Requirements
What does it take to provide clients with long-lasting manicures, relaxing pedicures, and cutting-edge nail art? In Vermont, the first stop is the Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. This state agency sets training, testing, and licensing requirements for nail technicians and other beauty professionals.
By requiring all nail technicians to follow the same laws and statutes, this agency ensures that Vermont customers can easily find a licensed nail technician anywhere in the state. As an added bonus, licensing makes it easier for salon owners to double-check an applicant’s credentials and skills.
Vermont Nail License Fees and Hours
• $250 testing fee for written, practical, and state law exams
• $110 licensing fee
• Fees payable by money order, certified check, or credit card
• 400 hours of training or 600 hours of apprenticeship training
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Vermont
A major part of nail tech licensing in VT is education. There are several types of schools that have nail technician programs, including beauty schools, community colleges, and technical schools.
All schools approved by the state of Vermont should offer at least 400 hours of training. From there, there’s some diversity in topics and course outlines. However, all schools are required to teach the topics found below.
Courses Required for a Vermont Nail Technician License
• Acrylic nails, nail gels, nail tips, nail wrap applications, and nail repairs
• Nail drill use
• Liquid and powder acrylic nails
• Sanitation and sterilization
• Safe chemical use and storage
• Laws, rules, and regulations
By the time you graduate, you should be able to work independently while carrying out any number of nail care procedures. You should also be ready to ace your written exam, your practical exam, and your state law exam. These exams are the final hurdle in licensing.
Discover local schools that may help you reach your dreams by reaching out to the programs listed below.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Vermont
The Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists also regulates license renewal. Currently, nail technicians must renew by November 30 in every odd-numbered year. Vermont charges a $130 license renewal fee. Although there are no continuing education requirements in Vermont, learning about new techniques and styles can be beneficial to your career.
Get more information on how to get a nail tech license in Vermont. Explore local options below and get in touch with schools that catch your eye.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Vermont
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.