Nail Technician Licensing in Tennessee
Tennessee Nail Technician License Requirements
A career in nail technology could be a great way for you to make an impression on the beauty industry and find a field you are passionate about. If you have steady hands, a creative streak, and a willingness to learn, you could develop a thorough knowledge of many core skills and put those skills to work in Tennessee salons and spas.
The first step is earning a nail technician license. Tennessee oversees this field via the Tennessee Division of Regulatory Boards. The licensing process has several benefits for beauty professionals, salon owners, and clients, so it is important to meet or exceed all standards.
Licensing gives customers and employers a simple, foolproof way to evaluate the skills and qualifications of any nail technician. As you earn your license, be ready to pay a variety of fees and demonstrate your qualifications in several different ways.
Nail License Tennessee Fees and Hour Requirements
• $140 testing fee
• Fees payable by credit card, money order, cashier’s check, or business check
• 600 training hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Tennessee
Tennessee is home to many licensed schools that can help you develop the skills you need for a Tennessee nail technician license. Over a period of at least 600 hours, you should develop an understanding of nail care of theory. However, you must also get plenty of hands-on experience.
Licensed Tennessee schools must meet the following standards.
TN Nail Tech Licensing Courses
• 150 hours: Sterilization, bacteriology, sanitation, anatomy and physiology, and state law
• 100 hours: Product chemistry and OSHA
• 350 hours: Massage, manicuring, pedicuring, nail care, nail artistry, nail wraps, sculptured nails, nail tips, gel nails, and nail safety
Are you ready to learn from experienced nail technicians who can teach you what you need to know about this industry?
Take the first step now and contact Tennessee nail tech schools below.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Tennessee
Getting your initial beauty license is the longest part of the process. Once you are licensed to work as a nail technician, there’s only a few things you have to do to maintain your license. First, you have to renew your license every two years.
Renewal documents are due two years from your original date of licensure. Although Tennessee does not require any continuing education, the state does require that you pay a $50 renewal fee.
Get more information on how to get a nail tech license in TN. Check out the list of schools below and contact programs near you to get started.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Tennessee
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.