Nail Technician Licensing in South Dakota
South Dakota Nail Technician License Requirements
The beauty industry is always growing, and as it grows, it creates new jobs and specialty options. If you’re all about nail art, the latest nail polish colors, and relaxing with a nice mani-pedi, you could be a great fit for the field of nail technology.
In this state, nail technicians are licensed by the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission. The licensing process is very simple. You complete a training program at an approved beauty school, take a written licensing test, take a practical licensing test, and apply for your license.
This process improves the cosmetology industry as a whole, holds professionals to high standards, and gives customers the ability to choose highly trained beauty professionals.
Nail Technician License: South Dakota Fees and Hours
• $80 licensing and testing fee
• Fees payable by business check, money order, cashier’s check, or credit card
• 400 training hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in South Dakota
Clearly, education is one of the most important parts of getting a license. If you choose a great school that gives you plenty of experience, you can prepare more adequately for you licensing exams. A 400-hour program can be completed in a matter of months, so you want to select a program that helps you get the most out of every day you spend on the salon floor.
Licensed South Dakota schools have to meet the following curricular standards.
Required Courses for a South Dakota Nail Tech License
• 60 hours: Infection control, safety procedures, hygiene, disinfection, disorders, and cosmetology laws & rules
• 60 hours: Chemistry, bacteriology, anatomy, and physiology
• 90 hours: Manicuring and pedicuring; massage of hands, feet, arms, and legs
• 130 hours: 8 hours in electric file use; nail tips, nail wraps, sculptured nails, and gel nails
• 60 hours: Business practices and salon management
Find out how you can get a license for nail technician in South Dakota. Browse the list of schools below to compare local options.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in South Dakota
A beauty license is a major accomplishment! After you get your first license, it’s pretty easy to keep it up-to-date. The South Dakota Cosmetology Commission requires you to renew your license each year by your birthday. The renewal fee is $20.
Now that you know how to get a nail tech license in SD, it’s time to act. Contact South Dakota nail tech programs to take the next step in your education.
Find Nail Technology Programs in South Dakota
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.