Nail Technician Licensing in South Carolina
South Carolina Nail Technician License Requirements
Everyone enjoys a relaxing manicure or pedicure, which is one of the main benefits of starting a career in nail technology. When you can help clients relax and give them gorgeous nails at the same time, you can explore career options at nail salons, hair salons, and spas.
To work as a manicurist or pedicurist in South Carolina, you have to earn a nail tech license. South Carolina requirements are set by the Board of Cosmetology. They encompass the training and testing needed to meet the standards of South Carolina spas and salons.
As you check out nail tech schools in South Carolina, keep in mind the following fees.
Nail License SC Fees and Hours
• $175 testing fee; $115 for theory and $105 for practical if taken separately
• Fees payable via money order, certified check, or credit card
• 300 training hours required
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in South Carolina
Education is one of the most important parts of learning how to get a nail tech license in South Carolina.. South Carolina schools give you the chance to get at least 300 hours of training while preparing for licensing exams.
Licensed schools are required to meet the following outline for courses and topics.
Training Topics at Nail Tech Schools
• 75 hours: Sanitation, bacteriology, and sanitation
• 30 hours: Anatomy and physiology
• 105 hours: Nail technology, including equipment, implements, nail analysis, manicuring, pedicuring, polish application, and massage
• 50 hours: Artificial nails, including tips, wraps, repairs, and sculpturing
• 25 hours: Power equipment
• 15 hours: State law
Hands-on experience is essential in South Carolina. The practical experience you get as a student should help you succeed in your practical licensing exam.
Learn the skills you need as a nail technician by contacting South Carolina schools below.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in South Carolina
After you get your initial nail technician license, keep it renewed to continue growing in your career. The South Carolina Board of Cosmetology requires biennial renewal. They charge a fee of $52. During each renewal cycle, you must complete 12 hours of continuing education, three of which must be in client sanitation and safety.
Don’t put off your perfect career any longer. Discover the right school for you with the list of South Carolina schools below—request information on program start dates, training requirements, and course schedules today!
Find Nail Technology Programs in South Carolina
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.