Nail Technician Licensing in Oklahoma
Oklahoma Nail Technician License Requirements
With the right training, you may turn your passion for beauty into a new career. Choosing a specialty that makes the most of your skills is an important part of reaching your full potential. If you use nail polish, nail art pens, artificial nails, and other tools to make stunning manicures and pedicures, consider earning a nail technician license in OK.
Licensing is overseen by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. Their strict licensing standards ensure that customers can easily find trained, skilled technicians.
Since standards are uniform across Oklahoma, earning a license gives you a straightforward way to tell employers and clients about your experience.
Oklahoma Nail Technician License Fees and Hours
• $25 licensing fee
• $35 exam fee
• Fees payable by money order or cashier’s check
• 600 hours of training or 1200 hours of apprenticeship training
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Oklahoma
Mastering important nail technology skills and techniques is a great foundation for your new career path. Licensed Oklahoma schools provide you with at least 600 hours of training. To qualify for licensure, you must attend a program that meets the following curricular standards.
Courses Required for a Nail Technician License in OK
• 40 hours: Bacteriology, sanitation, and disinfection
• 60 hours: Nail structure, composition, disorders, and diseases
• 160 hours: Manicuring and pedicuring
• 160 hours: Artificial nails
• 60 hours: Nail art
• 80 hours: Salon development and management
• 40 hours: Board rules and statutes
Make your move now and get started in the field of nail technology. Learn how to get a nail tech license in Oklahoma by contacting the schools listed below!
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Oklahoma
Once you’ve completed your training, you can finish the licensing process by passing a written test and a skills test. From there, it’s just a matter of keeping your license up-to-date. Currently, the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering requires annual license renewal. You must renew your license by the last day of your birth month each year.
Oklahoma does not require any continuing education for renewal, although continuing education is a good opportunity to improve your skills in this field. Oklahoma’s renewal fee is $25.
Why not take the first step to a beauty career today? Check out the list of Oklahoma beauty schools below and learn more about earning a nail technician license in OK.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Oklahoma
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.