Nail Technician Licensing in Ohio
Ohio Nail Technician License Requirements
Ready to explore career options at Ohio salons, nail shops, and spas? First things first—you need to learn how to get a nail tech license in Ohio. Licensing is required in almost every state. Though it may seem like it creates extra work for you, it actually benefits you throughout your career.
Strict licensing standards keep your reputation from being damaged by those who would practice without training or experience. This obviously benefits customers, since they want to spend their hard-earned money on quality services. Employers have an easy and foolproof way to check your credentials and skills with state licensing laws.
The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology sets the following standards.
Ohio Nail Tech License Fees and Hours
• $31.50 exam fee
• $45 licensing fee
• Fees payable by credit card, debit card, cashier’s check, or money order
• 200 training hours
• 8 hours of training required to use electric file
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Ohio
Nail technician license Ohio requirements cover three main areas: education, testing, and renewal. To meet training standards, you must complete at least 200 hours of education, plus an 8-hour course to use an electric nail file.
Licensed schools must meet specific hour requirements in their curricular plans.
Courses Taught at Nail Tech Schools in Ohio
• Infection control: 30 hours
• Anatomy: 10 hours
• Massage: 10 hours
• Nail care procedures and practices, including manicures, pedicures, polish application, and precautions: 55 hours
• Chemistry of products and nail enhancements: 10 hours
• Nail enhancements, including preparation, application, and removal: 35 hours
• Curing methods, drills, and advanced tools: 10 hours
• Salon operations: 20 hours
• Ohio cosmetology laws and rules: 20 hours
After finishing your theory and hands-on training, you can apply for a license and take your licensing exams. These tests are given throughout the year, so you should only have a short wait to prove your skills.
Discover an Ohio nail tech school that can help you reach your goals with our program list below!
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Ohio
To keep working without interruption in Ohio, you must renew your license every two years. Renewal documents are due in every odd-numbered year. Each biennial cycle requires eight hours of continuing education, one hour of which must relate to human trafficking and recognizing the signs of human trafficking. Ohio’s renewal fee is $45.
Within a matter of weeks, you could be applying for a license for nail technician in Ohio! Make the first move now by requesting information from schools near you.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Ohio
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.