Nail Technician Licensing in North Dakota
North Dakota Nail Technician License Requirements
What does it take to become a nail technician in North Dakota? The beauty industry is subject to licensing standards in every state, so you have to follow the laws of the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology.
To learn how to get a nail tech license in North Dakota, explore training requirements, licensing fees, and other state-specific expectations.
Nail Technician License in ND Fees and Hours
• $50 practical testing fee and $70 written testing fee
• $25 licensing fee
• Fees payable by credit card, company check, cashier’s check, or money order
• 350 training hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in North Dakota
Nail tech schools aim to help passionate students become highly skilled nail technicians. A program of 350 hours may be completed in a matter of months, so you have to make the most of each day you spend in class!
The North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology requires licensed schools to teach specific topics in their programs. In fact, they require hours to be divided up in a certain way to cover the following topics.
Courses Needed for a Nail Tech License in North Dakota
• Sterilization, sanitation, and safety: 45 hours
• Manicuring, pedicuring, and application of artificial nails: 200 hours
• Study of theory, law, and sanitation: 45 hours
• Related subjects: 35 hours
• Unassigned: 25 hours
Unassigned hours can be spent on field trips, internships, hands-on practice of challenging skills, and exam study. Each instructor has the freedom to allocate these 25 hours as they choose.
You know that education is the foundation of a successful beauty career, so learn more about your options now by contacting North Dakota schools!
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in North Dakota
You may receive your initial nail technician license in ND after passing all required licensing exams, submitting an application, and paying your fees in full. After that, it’s just a matter of getting plenty of work experience and renewing your license. North Dakota law requires nail technicians to renew every year by December 31.
The current renewal fee is $20. No continuing education units are required, but if you want to really make an impact on this industry, you definitely want to keep learning new skills and techniques.
Spend your career creating gorgeous nail art, soothing pedicures, and stunning manicures. With the list of North Dakota schools below, contact programs that catch your eye.
Find Nail Technology Programs in North Dakota
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.