Nail Technician Licensing in North Carolina
North Carolina Nail Technician License Requirements
With files, polish remover, setting spray, and other nail tools, the field of nail technology requires a lot of knowledge and experience. That’s why it’s a licensed profession.
Licensing requirements in North Carolina protect you from unintentionally harming yourself with nail care chemicals. These laws also strengthen the beauty industry by keeping out untrained specialists, giving customers access to those who offer safe, effective manicures and pedicures.
In North Carolina, the licensing process is regulated by the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners. To learn how to get a nail tech license in North Carolina, you should get an overview of the fee and hour requirements.
Fees and Hours Required for a Nail Tech License in North Carolina
• $20 application fee
• Fees payable by cashier’s check or money order
• 300 training hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in North Carolina
A big part of licensing in North Carolina is education. Before you can sit for your licensing exams, you need to complete your 300 hours of training at a licensed school. Licensed schools are held to high standards, so you can feel confident knowing that you are getting the training you need. North Carolina schools must teach core nail technology topics and subjects.
Courses Required at North Carolina Nail Tech Schools
• Disinfection and first aid
• Nail trimming
• Nail filing
• Nail shaping
• Nail decorating
• Hand and arm manipulation
• Sculptured and artificial nails
• Styles and techniques for the care of fingernails, toenails, cuticles, nail extensions, and artificial nails
• Electric file use
• Business management
• Professional ethics
• 15 manicures
• 10 pedicures
• 20 applications or repairs of sculptured or artificial nail sets
By the time you’re ready to apply for your nail technician license in NC, you should know all about the theory and terminology of nail technology. You should also know how to execute various basic and advanced procedures.
Ready to find a school that fits your needs? Browse North Carolina programs below and request information today.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in North Carolina
License renewal is crucial in this field, since you have to renew your license regularly to continue working in this state. The North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners requires all licensees to renew every year by October 1. At this time, you must pay a $10 renewal fee. During each annual renewal cycle, you have to complete eight hours of continuing education.
Invest in the future of your career now. Contact North Carolina nail technology schools to find out more about start dates, training requirements, and available classes.
Find Nail Technology Programs in North Carolina
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.