Nail Technician Licensing in New Mexico
New Mexico Nail Technician License Requirements
Whether clients prefer a nude natural nail, intricately painted artificial nails, or something in between, a good nail technician can do it all. If you’ve been looking for the right beauty specialty for your career, consider earning a New Mexico nail technician license.
This career path allows you to do manicures, pedicures, hand and foot massage, artificial nails, and more. The licensing body in this state is the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. They set minimum training and examination standards for each beauty career, ensuring that licensed professionals have what it takes to work in this industry. As a result, customers get better service and beauty professionals enjoy a stronger reputation in New Mexico.
Get more information on schools that may help you reach your goal by contacting New Mexico nail technician programs today.
Fees and Hours for Nail Tech Licensing in NM
• $50 licensing fee
• Fees payable by cashier’s check, money order, or business check
• 400 hours of training
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in New Mexico
New Mexico statutes are very clear about what you need to know to get a New Mexico nail license. In addition to mandating 400 hours of training, they also require specific topics and skills to be included in your curriculum.
Courses Taught at Nail Tech Schools
• 75 hours: State laws and regulations, first aid, chemistry, electricity, and ethics
• 75 hours: Sterilization, sanitation, and bacteriology
• 175 hours: Manicuring, pedicuring, theory of massage, advanced nail techniques, nail products, and client consultation
• 45 manicures
• 45 pedicures
• 20 acrylic nail sets
• 50 hours: Salon business
• 25 hours: Field trips and other topics as decided by instructor
As you can see, theory and hands-on skills are vitally important parts of your education. By the time you complete all required services and training hours, you should feel completely ready to work without supervision in a nail salon or spa.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in New Mexico
Keeping your license current is an important part of learning how to get a nail tech license in New Mexico. Renewing on time every time can prevent late fees and allow you to avoid lapses in licensure.
The New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists requires licensees to pay a $50 fee and submit renewal documents each year during their birth month. They do not have any continuing education requirements.
Make the most of your talents with a career in the beauty industry. Contact nail tech schools for more information!
Find Nail Technology Programs in New Mexico
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.