Nail Technician Licensing in Kansas
Kansas Nail Technician License Requirements
If you always have perfect nails and you love to try out new nail techniques and styles, why not use your talents to begin a new career? Nail technicians in Kansas work in spas, hair salons, and nail salons. This field may provide you with a flexible schedule and the opportunity to build a solid base of clients.
As you learn how to get a nail tech license in Kansas, you’ll see that everything is determined by the Kansas Board of Cosmetology. Many of their licensing requirements are similar to those found in other Midwestern states.
By enforcing these expectations, the Board of Cosmetology strengthens the beauty industry and helps licensed practitioners enjoy a positive reputation in the public eye. These laws also protect customers from untrained manicurists.
KS Nail Technician Licensing Fees and Hours
• $45 application fee
• $150 testing fee
• Fees payable by check, money order, or credit card
• 350 training hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Kansas
Training is one of the main parts of earning a nail technician license. Kansas schools must teach specific courses in order to remain licensed.
Courses Required to Earn a Nail Tech License in KS
• 60 hours: Sanitation, chemistry, skin and nail structure, and general anatomy
• 75 hours: Manicuring skills and procedures
• 160 hours: Artificial nails
• 35 hours: Business practices
• 20 hours: Kansas state law
Among the topics above, your hours should be split between theory and practical skills. In general, you should spend more time gaining hands-on experience than learning theory. The more time you spend practicing nail techniques, the more time you have to perfect and improve them.
Choosing the right school is so important at this stage. Get started now—compare your options by contacting Kansas nail technician schools.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Kansas
Throughout your career, you must maintain your nail tech license in KS if you want to continue working. The state of Kansas requires license renewal every two years.
Although the state does not require continuing education, it does have a mandatory renewal exam that you have to pass before getting your new license. On top of that, you must pay a $45 license renewal fee. The late renewal fee is $70, and you must pay $125 if you wait more than six months to renew your license.
Don’t put off your career any longer. Request information from Kansas beauty schools to find out when you can start your education.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Kansas
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.