Nail Technician Licensing in Iowa
Iowa Nail Technician License Requirements
Nail technology is one of the most popular specialties in the beauty industry. Hair salons, spas, and nail salons all offer pedicures, manicures, nail art, and other highly specialized services.
By learning how to get a nail tech license in Iowa, you may get involved in the beauty industry and explore your creativity as a nail technician.
To become a nail tech in Iowa, licensure is overseen by the Iowa Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences.
They set their licensing standards to ensure that all practitioners are highly trained and capable of providing safe, high-quality services to clients. Sticking to these requirements may help you expand your career options, build your reputation, and demonstrate your training.
IA Nail Tech Licensing Fees and Hours
• $60 application fee
• Fees payable by check or money order
• $55 testing fee
• 325 hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Iowa
In any beauty field, it’s important to get the right education before you start working independently. If you want to get a nail technician license, Iowa requires you to complete at least 325 hours at a licensed school. Your training should be divided into the following areas.
Courses at Nail Tech Schools in Iowa
• Core life sciences: 150 hours
• Nail technology theory: 50 hours
• Applied practical instruction: 125 hours
These categories are broad, giving schools a lot of freedom in which skills and techniques they wish to focus on. However, certain core skills are covered at local schools. These topics include manicuring, pedicuring, hand and foot massage, application of artificial nails, removal and repair of artificial nails, and product chemistry.
A good training program may help you jump-start your career in nail technology. Compare options below and contact schools that catch your eye.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Iowa
Upon earning your initial nail license, Iowa requires you to maintain it through regular renewal. Currently, renewal documents are due every two years by March 31. The renewal fee is $60, with an additional $60 late fee for documents received after March 31.
Iowa requires eight hours of continuing education every two years. Four hours must cover your chosen specialty. Two hours must explore Iowa laws and rules. The final two hours may be in any relevant content area.
Take advantage of how quickly the beauty industry is growing by exploring your career options. By contacting Iowa schools, you can start preparing for your career goals today.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Iowa
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.