Nail Technician Licensing in Illinois
Illinois Nail Technician License Requirements
Working with nails requires attention to detail, a thorough knowledge of equipment and products used in the beauty industry, and lots of practice. When you pursue a nail license, Illinois schools can help you get the knowledge and hands-on practice you need.
Once you’ve met state training requirements, you can move on to the testing process. This is regulated by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. It’s crucial to follow all licensing expectations in Illinois.
Licensing standards maintain the integrity of the beauty industry, provide consumers with confidence and trust in beauty professionals, and ensure that all professionals are held to the same high standards.
Nail Tech License Illinois Fees and Hours
• $180 examination fee
• Fees paid by credit card
• $30 licensing fee
• 350 training hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Illinois
Want to become a nail technician? Get ready to spend plenty of time at a local beauty school. After learning about nail technology theory, you can grab your manicurist tools and start working on mannequin hands. Before you know it, you can move on to working with real clients.
This experience allows you to build your rapport with clients and gives you the chance to get feedback from instructors. All schools that help students prepare for licensure must cover specific topics and skills.
Courses Required at Illinois Nail Tech Schools
• 50 hours: Nail care history, personal hygiene, ethics, bacteriology, and OSHA
• 15 hours: Body systems, massage theory, and people skills
• 255 hours: Fabric procedures, sculpting procedures, light cured gels, machines and apparatus, manicures, pedicures, massage of the hands and feet, and product knowledge
• 30 hours: Business skills and management
This is a great time to get your nail license. IL schools, listed below, can help you take the next step.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Illinois
Once you get your initial practice license, you can begin working independently in nail salons in Illinois. To continue working in this state, you must follow the Illinois nail technician license renewal process.
Currently, the renewal fee in Illinois is $50. You must submit your fee and all renewal documents by October 31 in every even-numbered year. State law requires licensees to complete 10 hours of continuing education during every renewal cycle.
Now that you know how to get a nail tech license in Illinois, get started on your new career. Check out the list of schools below and request information to find out more.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Illinois
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.