Nail Technician Licensing in Georgia
Georgia Nail Technician License Requirements
If you spend your free time doing your nails and coming up with beautiful new nail art designs, the field of nail technology could really benefit from your dedication and skills. Georgia hair salons, nail salons, and spas hire manicurists and pedicurists to provide clients with relaxing, long-lasting nail care.
Before you begin your new career, you do need a nail tech license. Georgia regulates this field through the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. The list below provides an overview of fees and training hours.
George’s licensing requirements protect clients from undertrained practitioners. As a result, these requirements also protect skilled nail technicians from having their reputation negatively affected by technicians who have insufficient training. Licensing procedures can benefit you throughout your entire career.
Georgia Nail License Fees and Hours
• $30 application fee
• $109 written and practical testing fee; $64 for practical and $45 for theory if taken separately
• Fees paid by money order, cashier’s check, company check, or credit card
• 525 training hours or 1050 apprenticeship hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Georgia
Whether you decide to go with a conventional training program or an apprenticeship, it’s clear that training is part of your new career path. Georgia nail tech schools are required to cover specific topics to prepare students for licensing.
Courses Required to Earn a Nail Technician License in Georgia
• 140 hours of theory: personal hygiene, cleaning, disinfection, ethics, bacteriology, OSHA, anatomy and physiology, massage techniques, nail composition, nail structure, product chemistry, nail implements, and salon management
• 5 hours of sanitizing and disinfecting tools, implements, and equipment
• 70 hours of manicuring with hand and forearm massage
• 60 hours of pedicuring with leg and foot massage
• 60 hours of nail sculpting
• 60 hours of artificial tip application
• 20 hours of nail wrapping
• 20 hours of UV gel nails
• 40 hours of fill-in application
• 10 hours of artificial nail removal and repair
• 5 hours of professional nail drill usage
• 5 hours of nail art techniques
• 5 hours of airbrush nail art
• 5 hours of paraffin treatments
• 20 hours of advanced techniques
Ready to take the next step in your beauty career and pursue a nail license in GA? Check out our list of beauty schools in Georgia and request information from programs near you.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Georgia
Georgia’s laws and rules cover the process of license renewal. Currently, the biennial renewal fee is set at $45. Nail technicians must renew by August 31 of every odd-numbered year. If you renew even one day late, there is a late fee of $90.
To qualify for license renewal, you must earn at least five continuing education units during each two-year cycle. Your continuing education units must be related to hygiene, sanitation, nail technology tools, nail care techniques, or other subjects that are directly relevant to your career.
Now that you know how to get a nail tech license in GA, make your move and get involved. Reach out to schools in your community to find a program that fits you and your career goals.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Georgia
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.