Nail Technician Licensing in Florida
Florida Nail Technician License Requirements
Beauty is a big priority in Florida, with the state’s residents and tourists enjoying the services of local salons, spas, and beauty shops. Whether you decide to work in a major tourist city, a suburban area, or a smaller rural area, you may use your nail technician skills to build a rewarding career for yourself.
To earn a nail tech license, Florida residents must go through the Florida Board of Cosmetology. This agency requires a thorough education, passing scores on two licensing exams, and a background check.
Licensing keeps track of beauty professionals and ensures that they meet high standards of education and customer service. As you work through the licensing process, you’ll need to pay certain fees and meet training hour requirements.
Florida Nail Technician License Fees and Hours
• $40 initial registration fee
• $30 application fee
• $27 testing fee
• Fees to be paid by credit card or electronic check
• 240 training hours required
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Florida
It’s all about education, both at the start of your career and throughout your career! At Florida nail tech schools, you learn about nail theory and then put it to work during your practical experience hours. Local schools have to meet specific standards to help students prepare for the licensing process.
Courses Required for a Florida Nail License
• Florida cosmetology laws and rules: 5 hours
• HIV/AIDS: 4 hours
• Sanitation: 4 hours
• Ethics: 2 hours
• Nail theory and practice: 85 hours
• Manicures: 20 hours
• Pedicures: 10 hours
• Tips with overlay: 37.5 hours
• Sculpting: 37.5 hours
• Nail wraps and mending: 15 hours
• Nail fill-ins: 10 hours
• Artificial nail removal: 5 hours
• Polishing and nail art: 5 hours
Are you ready to explore your career options and get started in the world of beauty? Compare your options now by contacting Florida nail technician programs.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Florida
Upon earning your nail technician license in Florida, you can continue working as long as you follow your renewal schedule, pay your fees, and complete all continuing education requirements.
Licenses in Florida expire on October 31 of either odd-numbered or even-numbered years, depending on your original licensure date. The renewal fee is currently set at $40. During each two-year cycle, you have to complete 16 hours of continuing education. Those hours are broken down into specific topics.
Continuing Education Courses and Hours
• 2 hours on HIV/AIDS
• 3 hours on sanitation and sterilization
• 1 hour on OSHA
• 1 hour on workers’ compensation
• 2 hours on state and federal laws
• 2 hours on chemical makeup
• 1 hours on environmental issues
• 4 hours on any nail technician topic
Take the next step in your future and discover how to get a nail tech license in Florida. Reach out to schools near you to learn more about program start dates and options.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Florida
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.