Nail Technician Licensing in Colorado
Colorado Nail Technician License Requirements
With the variety of beauty careers available in the cosmetology industry, you may find that you are naturally talented in the area of nail technology.
To become a professional nail technician, you must earn your nail tech license in CO through the Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure. They require you to finish your education at an approved beauty school and attend for at least 600 hours. After completing your education, you must pass a practical skills test and a written test.
As you learn more about licensing requirements and training options, note that licensing provides numerous benefits to you as a professional. It verifies your skills and knowledge, showing customers that they can trust you with their nails.
Ready to jump into a beauty career? Keep reading to learn how to get a nail tech license in Colorado.
Nail Technician Licensing Fees and Hours
• $71 practical testing fee and $56 written testing fee
• $28 licensing fee
• Fees payable by credit card
• 600 training hours
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Colorado
The first step in your career is education. Many cosmetology schools and community colleges in Colorado offer nail technician training. Although the state only requires 600 hours of training, some schools provide additional hands-on experience for students.
During your training, you must complete a specific number of hours and nail tech courses. These are listed below for your convenience.
Required Courses at Colorado Nail Tech Schools
• Sanitation, sterilization, and safety: 70 hours
• Basic manicuring and pedicuring: 75 hours
• Application of artificial nails: 135 hours
• Laws, rules, and regulations: 25 hours
• Management and ethics: 25 hours
• Occupational safety and health: 20 hours
The majority of your time should be spent practicing hands-on skills. The more time you spend working with hands and feet, the more comfortable you may feel when it’s time to work with clients independently.
Get more information on Colorado training options by requesting information from the schools listed below.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Colorado
After you get your nail technician license in Colorado, you may begin working independently at a licensed nail salon anywhere in the state. After that, you will need to keep your license renewed to continue working. If you renew late, you may find that your license lapses and you have to pay additional fees. In Colorado, nail tech license renewal is due by March 31 in every even-numbered year. The current renewal fee is $26.
In Colorado, no continuing education units are required. However, keep in mind that your place of employment may request that you keep up with new trends and techniques by attending ongoing training.
Now that you know more about CO nail technician licensing, it’s time to find a school that can help you prepare for this process. Check out options below and contact local schools to get started.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Colorado
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.