Nail Technician Licensing in California
California Nail Technician License Requirements
There’s a lot that goes into the field of nail technology. From simple nail care and nail trimming to intricately designed artificial nails, there’s a style that suits everybody. When you earn a California nail tech license, you learn how to interpret a customer’s needs and use your skills to meet those needs.
Licensing is regulated by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. Currently, the process includes working through an education program, paying a set of fees, and passing both a skills test and a written test. The list below sums up CA nail technician license requirements.
Fees and Hours for Nail Technician Licensing in California
• $9 pre-application fee
• $75 application and examination fee
• $35 licensing fee
• Fees can be paid by personal check, business check, money order, or cashier’s check
• 350 hours of training
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in California
As you see, education is the first step in getting your nail tech license. California has one of the most active beauty industries in the United States, which may mean that you have plenty of schools to choose from.
Some CA nail technician schools offer standard daytime class hours, while others accommodate working students with evening and weekend classes. Programs often start throughout the year, giving you the chance to start your training when it fits your schedule.
To qualify for a CA nail tech license, you have to meet very specific training hour requirements.
Courses and Hours Needed at Nail Tech Schools
• 300 hours of technical instruction and practical training in nail care; including water and oil manicures, hand and arm massage, pedicuring, artificial nails, nail analysis, nail tips, nail wraps, and nail repairs
• 100 hours of technical instruction and practical training in health and safety
• 10 hours of technical instruction in laws and safety
• 25 hours of health and safety considerations
• 20 hours of disinfection and sanitation
• 10 hours of bacteriology, anatomy, and physiology
When you graduate, you should be an expert in manicuring, pedicuring, artificial nails, and customer service.
Get more information on schools that can help you become a nail technician by consulting the list below.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in California
After learning how to get a nail tech license in California and starting your career in this field, you are on your way. Don’t forget that part of nail technician licensing is renewing your license on time. In California, that means renewing your license every two years by the original issue date.
There are no continuing education requirements for license renewal, but getting sufficient practice is a big part of growing in your career. When you renew your license, you must pay a renewal fee of $50. Failing to renew on time may incur additional fees and cause a temporary lapse in licensure.
Why not get started in an exciting, rewarding career right now? With California nail technology schools, you may find a program that fits your schedule and turns your passion into practical nail technology skills. Make your move now and reach out to nail technician programs below.
Find Nail Technology Programs in California
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.