Nail Technician Licensing in Arkansas
Arkansas Nail Technician License Requirements
One of the best parts of working in cosmetology is the fact that there are lots of different career paths to consider. If you are most interested in nail care, nail art, and nail technology, earning an AR nail technician license could put you in a position to start a rewarding career. Keep reading to find out what the Arkansas Department of Health expects of nail technology applicants.
Arkansas Nail Technician Licensing Fees and Hours
• $65 practical testing fee and $60 written testing fee
• Fees paid by cashier’s check, money order, or business check
• 600 training hours
Licensing is a process that benefits you, other beauty professionals, and the public. By having strict standards for beauty professionals, the Arkansas Department of Health ensures that service providers can adequately meet the needs of customers.
Education Requirements to Get a Nail Tech License in Arkansas
Of course, before you get your AR nail license, you have to get the proper training. Beauty schools in Arkansas often offer manicuring and pedicuring programs that cover everything you need to know. As you complete your 600 or more training hours, you should get lots of practice with the following topics.
Required Courses at Nail Tech Schools
• Cutting and trimming nails
• Polishing, coloring, and tinting nails
• Cleansing, filing, and buffing nails
• Pushing and extending nails
• Covering and wrapping nails
• Softening of arms, hands, feet, and ankles
• Use of electrical appliances and apparatus
• Cosmetic and chemical preparations
• Antiseptics and lotions
• Massaging and cleansing
• Manipulating and stimulating the arms, hands, feet, and ankles
After you study the theory of each topic, you may get the chance to practice it with mannequin hands or real clients. Use your hands-on practice time to improve your technique, learn how to make customers feel comfortable, and improve your efficiency.
Ready to take the first step on this career path? Check out the list of Arkansas nail technician schools and contact programs to learn more.
How to Get a Nail Tech License Renewed in Arkansas
After you finish your education, the nail technician licensing process requires you to pass a written test and a skills test. From there, you simply have to keep your license renewed and active to keep working. Laws covering nail technician licensing in Arkansas require technicians to renew every two years by their birthday. The current renewal fee is $50.
Arkansas, like most other states, does not require any continuing education units for manicurists and pedicurists. Although continuing training is not mandatory, it may well be the best way to keep your skills current and meet the needs of your customers.
Now that you have learned how to get a nail tech license in Arkansas, you can find the right nail technician program for your needs. Use the list of Arkansas programs below to find local options.
Contact nearby schools to find out more about programs start dates, program lengths, and other factors in your school choice.
Find Nail Technology Programs in Arkansas
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.