Makeup Artist Licensing in Texas
Texas Makeup Artist License Requirements
Do you want to work in the beauty industry – and LOVE make up? If so, here is the rundown of what you need to know about earning your makeup license in TX. You basically have four options when it comes to earning a license to be a makeup artist in Texas. Although there is not curriculum for working as a makeup artist Texas requires, you should consider the benefits of completing program, no matter what the state licensure laws.
You can earn a ‘makeup license’ in the form of any of these official state licenses required to work in this occupation. Use the links in the first two options to learn more about acquiring those skills while taking a makeup program:
Each of the above forms of licensure can give you additional skills, which can translate into more services you can offer your clients. When you talk to schools, ask which of their programs lead to licensure and have the best chance of resulting in makeup artist careers.
Generally, esthetician programs are a good fit with makeup artist professionals. In an esthetician program, you will learn facial science, waxing, hair removal, and take a pretty strong makeup curriculum. An esthetics program can give you the science behind some of your makeup techniques, along with skills, such as facials that you can market to clients.
Get ready to work as a make up artist in the Lone Star State! Contact the makeup schools listed in our directory to get moving!
Education Requirements to Get a Makeup Artist License in Texas
Of course you will want to review every school’s makeup artist courses to be sure they align with your career goals. And you should also take good notes of cost, financial aid options, timeline for completion, and other characteristics that may be important in your decision.
Makeup courses in Texas include:
• Special effects
• Senior and male
How to Get a Makeup Artist License Renewed in Texas
If you earn any of the four forms of licensure that acts as your ‘makeup license’ in Texas, here is the renewal process in a nutshell:
• Must renew every two years by date-of-issue
• $53 fee for renewal
• Fill out application
• Take a 4 hour continuing education course
If you’re ready to start designing your path towards a new career, contact the makeup artist schools for Texas students listed on this page!
Find Make-Up Artist Training Programs in Texas
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.