Makeup Artist Licensing in South Dakota
South Dakota Makeup Artist License Requirements
Are you social? Do you love making others look amazing? And do you have a natural love for all things makeup related? If so, you should consider meeting the makeup artist license requirements in South Dakota. In this state, there isn’t a makeup artist license. Instead, professionals can choose one of two forms of licensure: cosmetologist or esthetician.
Even though you do not need an official makeup license in (SD) South Dakota, you should consider the benefits of finding a makeup artist program that will give you a complete set of professional skills. Makeup focused programs can often be taken at the same time as cosmetology and esthetician programs.
Do you want to compare esthetician and cosmetology programs to makeup artist programs near you? Use these links to perform your research:
It can be a good idea to take one of the above programs while pursuing a makeup artist curriculum. This way, you will have a comprehensive set of makeup and facial, hair or nail services you can provide clients – which could open up more doors of opportunity for your career.
Ready to compare makeup schools in your area? Use our directory to start your search right now!
Education Requirements to Get a Makeup Artist License in South Dakota
Since you do not have to worry about state makeup license laws, you can choose the make up artist program that suits your career ambitions. When you speak with schools, take some time to review the learning objectives of the courses and program. This will help you determine if the goals of the program align with your career aspirations in makeup.
Makeup artist courses in South Dakota:
• Special effects
Makeup artist courses will vary from program to program. So will timeline for completion, financial aid options, and other characteristics that can matter when it comes to making your final decision. That’s why it only makes sense to speak with a few makeup artist schools before committing.
How to Get a Makeup Artist License Renewed in South Dakota
Whether you earn your esthetician or cosmetology requirements to work in make up, you will want to stay on top of the renewal process. If you let your license expire, you will be ineligible to work until you go through the reinstatement process.
You will have to renew your cosmetologist or esthetician license every year by your birth date. The fee for renewal is $20. If you pay late you’ll have to pay an additional $20 late charge.
Ready to color your future a little bit brighter, with a creative career in makeup artistry? Contact the beauty schools in your area of South Dakota to get the guidance you need to get started!
Find Make-Up Artist Training Programs in South Dakota
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.