Makeup Artist Licensing in Ohio
Ohio Makeup License Requirements
If you are trying to figure out what it takes to earn your license for makeup artist in Ohio, you have two paths to official licensure – in addition to any makeup artist program you complete. To get the equivalent of a makeup artist license Ohio requires, you can pursue an esthetician or cosmetology training and education, pass the required exam, perform the required number of hours, and apply for licensure.
To help determine if you should add cosmetology or esthetician training to your makeup artist education, simply use these links to learn more:
• Ohio esthetics and skin care programs
• Ohio cosmetology programs
It can be a smart move to complete makeup artist training in conjunction with one of the two options for licensure mentioned above. This will only broaden your skills and increase your employment opportunities, which can be beneficial when you’re just getting started. Salons and spas need workers who are skilled in makeup, but having the ability to give facials, perform hair removal and waxing procedures can help you stand out.
Do you want to compare makeup schools in your area? To learn how you can start working in this creative field, and meet Ohio requirements, use our beauty school listings to start the conversation!
Education Requirements to Get a Makeup Artist License in Ohio
Even though you do not need a makeup license in Ohio, you still need to consider make up artist programs as your main source of training. As you look at the makeup artist courses offered in different programs, you will see that schools often have their own unique approach to training. Not only the classes, but also the duration of the program, cost, financial aid options – there may be big differences that can affect your decision.
Make up Courses in Ohio:
• Color theory
• Senior and male
When choosing a makeup artist program, the courses you take are critical, and should align with your career goals. Be sure to speak with each school about the typical employments prospects and career assistance their graduates receive.
How to get a Make up Artist License Renewed in Ohio
As you embark on your makeup artist career, you will need to find out about cosmetology or esthetician license renewal to make sure you comply with state laws. Cosmetologists and estheticians must renew their license every two years in odd-numbered years. The cost to renew is $30, but if you do not renew on time, you’ll have to pay a late fee in the amount of $45.
Start comparing makeup artist schools right now – and get ready to work in this creative field! Contact the schools in our directory to move forward!
Find Make-Up Artist Training Programs in Ohio
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.