Makeup Artist Licensing in Colorado
Colorado Makeup Artist License Requirements
So you want to become a professional makeup artist in Colorado, but aren’t sure what the rules are, and what to expect from beauty school programs.
First off, yes, you do need a license to work as a makeup professional in this state. Professionals must pass the esthetician exam, plus meet criteria for clock hours and education credits.
Here are the costs of earning your esthetician license in place of a Colorado makeup license:
• Practical Examination – $71
• Written Examination – $56
Colorado administers the cosmetology related tests, including the esthetician exam, through PSI Exams. This is a testing resource that states can used for several types of standardized tests, including those that test professional skills. As part of your testing, you’ll have to pass the practical and written esthetician’s exam. You must pass the practical portion first, before moving on to the written portion, administered through PSI.
To learn more about earning your esthetician license in Colorado, visit this page to review program and school information.
Education Requirements to Get A Makeup Artist License in Colorado
Estheticians in Colorado, which includes make up artist professionals, must perform 550 clock hours to meet this state’s criteria.
Here is a breakdown of the hours and subject matter you must cover to get licensed:
• Sanitation, sterilization and safety – 70 hrs
• Electricity, chemistry and light therapy – 235 hrs
• Massage, skin care and makeup – 175 hrs
• Law and rules and regulations – 25 hrs
• Management, ethics, interpersonal skills and salesmanship – 20hrs
When choosing an esthetician program, you’ll want to discuss how well each program covers the topics you’ll be tested on. You will also want to know if you will be earning hours that can be counted toward your license requirements.
As you work toward becoming a makeup artist, look for an esthetician program that will teach you the skills you need to succeed in the beauty industry.
Professional makeup artist courses Colorado students may take include:
• Color theory
• Eyebrow and eyelash application
• Seasonal, bridal, special occasion makeup
• Male and senior makeup
• Photography, Film and TV styles
• Theatrical makeup
• Sanitation and safety
• Salon management and business practices
As you compare several makeup schools and programs, you will find out very quickly that there can be big differences between one program and another. Some may focus on just makeup artist courses, while others may include hair removal and plastic surgery terminology.
You’ll want to choose a program that fits your goals and gives you the most opportunity for professional choices and success.
How to Get a Makeup Artist License Renewed in Colorado
After you earn your esthetician/makeup artist license in Colorado, it must be renewed before March 31 on even-numbered years. The cost of renewing your esthetician license is currently $26 or, if you are reinstating your old license, you’ll need to pay $41 to get your license back in action.
Do you want to know more about earning your esthetician license in CO? Your best bet is to reach out to esthetician and makeup artist schools in your area to get all the details about their programs.
Find Make-Up Artist Training Programs in Colorado
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.