Esthetics Licensing in Wyoming
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Wyoming
In the world of beauty and fashion, there’s a huge focus on looking as young as possible for as long as possible. The quickest way to look younger, of course, is to minimize or reverse the effects of aging on the skin. This is just one of the reasons that esthetics has grown as a specialty all over the country, including in Wyoming. Estheticians provide a variety of anti-aging services in addition to makeup application, skin cleansing and toning, and other skin care services.
If you are curious about how to get a skin care license in Wyoming, the first step is finding a school. You must attend an accredited esthetics program in Wyoming to qualify for licensure. Accredited state programs meet the following curriculum requirements:
• Anatomy, physiology, skin structure, skin diseases, and skin analysis (180 hours)
• Facials, exfoliation, esthetics machines, temporary hair removal, massage, skin analysis, extraction, makeup application, body treatments, chemical treatments of facial hair, safety, and disinfection (200 hours)
• Cleaning, steaming, masks, exfoliation, massage, lash extensions, and infection control (150 hours)
• Professional standards (50 hours)
• Wyoming law (10 hours)
Each instructor has 10 discretionary hours to use throughout their program. They may use this time to review difficult processes, prepare for licensing exams, or provide more hands-on training. You may cover topics like:
• Physical exfoliation and chemical exfoliation
• Salon management
• Customer service and communication
Earning a WY esthetics license is a great way to get involved in one of the fastest-growing beauty specialties in the country. Use our list of beauty programs below to contact esthetics schools in Wyoming.
Wyoming Esthetician License Requirements
While completing your training and working as an esthetician, you have to follow the laws and statutes of the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology. Testing is the next step in getting a license. Your practical and written exams test you on every aspect of skin care, esthetics, and professional standards. The Board of Cosmetology sets the following standards and fees for new applicants:
• $75 testing fee
• $48 licensing fee
• Fees paid by money order or cashier’s check
• 600 hours of training required
Though there is a lot of work involved in getting a Wyoming esthetician license, it is well worth it. When you have a license, shop owners and hiring managers can quickly get an overview of your qualifications, training, and ability to work independently. Licensing procedures also prevent poorly trained professionals from damaging the reputation of the beauty industry, which improves work conditions for you.
How to Get Your Wyoming Esthetician’s License Renewed
You receive your license upon meeting all esthetician license requirements in WY. This allows you to work for up to two years. Mandatory license renewal occurs every two years by the last day in your month of birth. At this time, you must pay a $96 renewal fee. Wyoming does not currently require any continuing education, but continuing education is highly recommended for all beauty professionals.
If you get started right away, you could have your esthetician license in a matter of months. Contact schools to get more information on training programs near you.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Wyoming
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.