Esthetics Licensing in West Virginia
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in West Virginia
If you want to explore the opportunities that come with a skin care career, you’ll need to earn a West Virginia esthetician license before you can begin working independently.
This process requires you to develop an extensive knowledge of skin care products, techniques, and tools. By the time you complete your training, you should be able to address a client’s concerns in a way that specifically relates to their skin care needs and problems.
The state of West Virginia requires you to learn about specific topics before you apply for a license. State-approved esthetics programs in West Virginia have to teach the following topics, listed here with their required hours:
• Professional development, business management, and state law (100 hours)
• Infection control, anatomy and physiology, chemistry, and electricity (117 theory hours and 50 practical hours)
• Histology, skin disorders, skin analysis, and skin care products (40 theory hours and 90 practical hours)
• Facials, massage, hair removal, and makeup (36 theory hours and 167 practical hours)
To gain a fuller understanding of esthetics, you may delve further into different physical sciences, techniques, and aspects of customer service. You may take courses like:
• Chemistry and ingredients of products
• Color theory
Education is a huge part of getting a WV esthetics license. Learn more about how to get started by contacting West Virginia esthetics programs below.
West Virginia Esthetician License Requirements
While learning more about local schools, you should learn more about how to get a skin care license in WV. Your career is overseen by the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Once you complete your education, you can submit your license application to them, pay all required fees, and register for your licensing exams. The following fees and restrictions are required in West Virginia:
• $99 testing fee
• $35 licensing fee
• Fees paid by money order or cashier’s check
• 600 hours of training required
Meeting the licensing standards of West Virginia is a major accomplishment. These standards are directly responsible for much of the success that the beauty industry has seen in recent years. High standards protect customers from untrained beauty practitioners and give you professional credibility when you earn your license.
How to Get Your West Virginia Esthetician’s License Renewed
After you get your skin care license in West Virginia, you simply have to renew it and meet ongoing licensing requirements to continue your career. West Virginia runs on an annual renewal schedule, so you must renew every year in January. During each cycle, you must complete four hours of mandatory continuing education. The renewal fee in West Virginia is $35. Renewing on time saves you from extra fees and a lapsed license, which can prevent you from working until your license is reinstated.
Esthetics is an exciting and challenging specialty in the world of beauty. If you are ready to spend your days making skin look flawless, request information from West Virginia skin care schools below.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in West Virginia
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.