Esthetics Licensing in Vermont
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Vermont
Choosing the right cosmetology specialty is a big responsibility, but if you love makeup and skin care products, the choice is obvious. Esthetics schools in Vermont can help you get established in a skin care career that involves working with makeup, various types of products, and new cosmetology technology.
In this specialty, you have the opportunity to work with the largest organ of the human body, which is why it is so important for you to do your job well. To help you meet that goal, Vermont schools must meet specific training requirements. When you decide to earn your VT esthetics license with an approved Vermont school, you should plan on studying the following topics:
• Anatomy and physiology
• Vermont laws and rules
• Facial treatments
• Chemical peels and exfoliation
• Makeup techniques
• Mask therapy
• Chemicals used in esthetics
• Electrical machines
• Eyebrow arching
• Hair removal
• Sanitation and sterilization
• Health and hygiene
Many of the courses you take as an esthetics student cover multiple aspects of the list above. Your education should teach you about the theory of cosmetology while still giving you plenty of hands on practice. In your courses, you may study detailed subjects like:
• Safe chemical use, storage and disposal
• Threading for hair removal
• Makeup brushes and applicators
As you learn about esthetician license requirements in VT, you may wonder how you can start working in this exciting field. Contact esthetics schools in Vermont to find out when you can start your training.
Vermont Esthetician License Requirements
Since esthetics is considered part of the cosmetology industry, it is under the oversight of the Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Throughout the licensing process, you’ll be required to pay a variety of fees to cover testing expenses, application processing, and license printing. When you are close to completing your education, get ready for the next step of the licensing process by getting familiar with the fees and expectations that come with licensure:
• $110 application fee
• $250 testing fee
• Fees paid by credit card, money order, or certified check
• 600 hours of training or 800 hours of apprenticeship training required
It is extremely important to follow this licensing process and get approved at each step before moving onto the next one. Practicing esthetics without a license is illegal, and furthermore, it does not give your customers the high-quality service they deserve. Licensing standards ensure that beauty professionals keep up on education, put in their full effort with every customer, and work within industry expectations.
How to Get Your Vermont Esthetician’s License Renewed
Now that you know how to get an esthetics license in Vermont, you know that education and testing are the two biggest parts of this process. However, it does not stop once you are licensed. Rather, you are expected to follow the renewal standards of the state of Vermont. Currently, there are no continuing education laws in Vermont, so you simply have to submit your renewal application by November 30 of every odd-numbered year. The fee to renew a license is $130.
People of all ages and backgrounds want to look beautiful, and for most people, that means having healthy skin. Start your career in this field now—request information from esthetics schools near you to find out how you can get a Vermont esthetician license.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Vermont
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.