Find Programs Near You
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Texas
Maybe you love cosmetology, but you don’t want to spend your career working with hair or nails. If you are most passionate about makeup, skin care, and beauty technology, consider pursuing a career in esthetics. Rather than encompassing all parts of the beauty industry, esthetics specifically addresses skin care. Training in this field covers in-depth procedures and skills that clients want.
Beauty careers are licensed in every state, so you have to meet Texas esthetician license requirements to legally work in this field. Training prepares you for testing and for your career. Approved Texas programs are legally required to stick to these curricular guidelines:
• Facial treatments, cleansing, masks, and therapy (225 hours)
• Anatomy and physiology (90 hours)
• Machines, electricity, and other equipment (75 hours)
• Makeup application (75 hours)
• Chemistry (50 hours)
• Rules, laws, and standards (50 hours)
• Client care (50 hours)
• Sanitation, first aid, and safety (40 hours)
• Salon management (35 hours)
• Hair removal (25 hours)
• Aromatherapy (15 hours)
• Nutrition (10 hours)
• Color psychology (10 hours)
Within all of the topics listed above, there are many advanced topics and ideas that you should master. With the help of your instructor, you may study these subjects:
• Makeup types: powder, mineral, liquid, and cream
• Customer service standards
• Documentation and administrative work
Are you ready to find out more about how to get an esthetician license in Texas? A high-quality school can help you reach your goals, contact Texas esthetics programs below to get started.
Texas Esthetician License Requirements
To qualify for a license and start your career in Texas, you must be willing to meet the requirements of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations. They award your license after you complete your training and pass both licensing exams. Keep reading to learn more about the licensing process in Texas:
• $74 practical testing fee and $52 written testing fee
• $50 licensing fee
• Fees paid by credit card, cashier’s check, business check, or money order
• 750 hours of training required
• Tests administered by PSI
• May take tests in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese
A TX esthetician license serves many purposes. Not only does it provide you with the credential you need to work in Texas, it also proves the quality and quantity of your training to potential employers and clients. Licensure allows the beauty industry to have some continuity between states with job titles and responsibilities.
How to Get Your Texas Esthetician’s License Renewed
As long as you keep your Texas esthetician license up-to-date and continue to do high-quality work, you can enjoy a long and fruitful career in this industry. Make sure you submit your renewal documents and a fee of $50 to the Texas Department of Licensing Regulations every two years by your original licensure date. By each renewal date, you must have completed four hours of continuing education.