Esthetics Licensing in South Dakota
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in South Dakota
The beauty industry is full of different career paths, licensure options, procedures, and specialties. As this field has diversified over the years, it has created many new job titles for skilled beauty professionals.
Perhaps you’ve considered a beauty career that would allow you to spend your days applying makeup, treating customers to relaxing procedures, and helping your clients look their best. If this describes you, becoming an esthetician could be a great choice for you. Esthetics is the field of beauty that focuses on skin care, relaxation, anti-aging, and makeup application. Since you need a license to work in this field, you should learn how to get an esthetician license in SD. The first step is choosing a certified program that meets the training requirements listed here:
• Infection control and safety procedures (90 hours)
• Skin dermatology and chemistry (90 hours)
• Consultations, skin analysis, chemical facial treatments, electrical facials, mechanical facials, and body treatments (240 hours)
• Massage manipulations (30 hours)
• Makeup and eyelash application (30 hours)
• Hair removal and eyebrow shaping (30 hours)
• Business practices (60 hours)
Training hours are also broken down into theory and practical work. In South Dakota, you must get 90 hours of theory education. This leaves 30 hours unassigned to a topic. Your teacher may use them to review areas of difficulty, teach new techniques, or talk about advanced topics not touched on in state requirements. Some of the in-depth subjects you make study include:
• Threading, waxing, tweezing, and depilatories
• South Carolina cosmetology laws and statutes
• Ethics in cosmetology
The more that technology evolves, the more exciting the field of beauty may become. Get involved in this field today by contacting esthetics programs in South Dakota.
South Dakota Esthetician License Requirements
Estheticians, like barbers, nail technicians, cosmetologists, and other beauty professionals, are licensed by the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission. The South Dakota Cosmetology Commission requires you to go through a comprehensive testing process after graduation. Your tests cover practical skills, theory, and South Dakota statutes. The following details are important to remember during this process:
• $80 examination and initial licensing fee
• $6 temporary license fee
• Fees paid by check or money order
• 600 hours of training required
To people who are unfamiliar with this field, esthetician license requirements in SD may seem very demanding. However, these standards benefit practitioners and customers. After you go through your education, you can feel confident knowing that every other esthetician in South Dakota has the same background and skills that you have. This fact also helps customers find great skin care specialists.
How to Get Your SD Esthetician’s License Renewed
Esthetician license requirements in South Dakota don’t stop after you get your initial license. In fact, they also cover the renewal process. Every year, you must renew your esthetician license by your birthday. Although there are no continuing education requirements, you do have to pay a renewal fee of $20.
In the field of esthetics, you have the chance to make people feel good about themselves and their skin. Take that chance now and contact schools below to learn about earning a South Dakota esthetician license.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in South Dakota
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.