Esthetics Licensing in South Carolina
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in South Carolina
If you live in South Carolina, the need for skilled skin care professionals should be obvious. With a variety of temperatures and weather conditions in South Carolina, it can be difficult for anyone to keep their skin looking as beautiful as they would like. If you are obsessed with makeup, skin care products, and new breakthroughs and ingredients in beauty products, consider a career in esthetics as your next step.
Getting an SC esthetics license is a big commitment, so get ready to meet the state’s testing requirements and expectations. Education is one of the most important parts of succeeding in skin care, which is why licensed schools in South Carolina must explore the following topics:
• Bacteriology, sanitation, and business practices (50 hours)
• Histology, dermatology, nutrition, and anatomy (120 hours)
• Facial treatments: massage, electrical current facials, and manual facials (125 hours)
• Hair removal (50 hours)
• Makeup application (50 hours)
• Body wraps (40 hours)
• South Carolina laws and regulations (15 hours)
The list above is a general overview of skin care education. By the time you graduate, you should be able to confidently discuss or carry out any procedure that falls into these categories. That’s why some of the following topics are common in South Carolina esthetician programs:
• Skin elasticity, type, and coloring
• Manipulation in facial massage
• Depilatories, tweezing, and waxing
Since the beauty industry has grown so much in recent years, this is a great time to check out your options in this field. Reach out to esthetics programs in South Carolina to learn more.
South Carolina Esthetician License Requirements
Since esthetics falls into the larger field of cosmetology, all parts of this career path are overseen by the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology. Once you finish your esthetics training, you can move on to the rest of the South Carolina esthetician license requirements. This involves submitting proof of your education. You must pass a written test and a skills test to qualify for licensure. Throughout this process, you’ll need to meet these standards and pay these fees:
• $175 combined testing fee; $115 theory and $105 practical when tests taken separately
• Fees paid by credit card, money order, or certified check
• 450 training hours required
• Tests administered by PCS
While working through your training, it should be clear why esthetics is such a regulated profession. To become licensed, you must have a thorough and practical knowledge of the many chemicals used in ingredients, facials, and other products. This information allows you to avoid chemical interactions and damage to clients caused by improper product usage. Without training and licensure, skin care practitioners may not develop these skills, impacting the entire beauty industry.
How to Get Your South Carolina Esthetician’s License Renewed
Your initial SC esthetician license is valid for up to two years, depending on your original licensure date. No matter when you get your first license, you must renew it by March 10 of every other year. After your first renewal cycle, you must complete 12 hours of continuing education per cycle. The current renewal fee in South Carolina is $52.
Now that you know more about what it’s like to work in this field, it is time to invest in yourself and in your career. Get ready to earn a South Carolina esthetician license by contacting local programs below.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in South Carolina
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.