Esthetics Licensing in Rhode Island
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Rhode Island
Skin care is one of the most diverse aspects of the cosmetology industry. Everyone needs to take care of their skin if they want to look their best, but everyone’s skin has different needs. What works for someone with dry skin and an ashy undertone will likely not work for someone with oily skin and a pink undertone.
This is one of the main reasons that esthetics is such a great field for aspiring beauty professionals. If you learn the theory and skills of skin care at a Rhode Island beauty school, you can earn your Rhode Island esthetician license and help people with little to no experience in makeup, skin cleansing, and product use.
First, you have to learn how to get an esthetician license in Rhode Island. The process is fairly straightforward, since it follows the process used in other states. With our list of schools, you can select a school that is approved to teach esthetics. According to Rhode Island state law, licensed programs must cover the topics listed here:
• Bacteriology, infection control, safety, and sanitation
• Skin anatomy, physiology, histology, and dermatology
• Structure and growth of hair
• Skin analysis
• Cleansing procedures
• Facial procedures
• Moisturizing procedures
• Hair removal
• Makeup application and removal
The skills you earn during an esthetics program can be applied to many different skills and procedures. Some of the techniques and topics your instructors may explore include:
• Analysis of face shapes and facial features
• Treatment protocols for different procedures
• Airbrush makeup
Are you ready to start checking out opportunities in this part of the beauty industry? Use our list of schools below to contact Rhode Island esthetics programs near you.
Rhode Island Esthetician License Requirements
Currently, all cosmetology careers are regulated by the Rhode Island Department of Health. Licensing requirements tend to stay fairly stable from year-to-year, but you should still spend some time getting accustomed to Rhode Island standards. They are listed below:
• $25 practical testing fee and $75 theory testing fee
• Fees paid by check or money order
• 600 hours of training required
• Tests administered by PSI
• Tests may be taken in English or Spanish; may take tests online in Korean or Vietnamese
Over the years, many states have perfected their licensing requirements and processes. These standards are chosen because they ensure a high level of quality in the beauty industry of Rhode Island. The training and testing requirements you’ll find in Rhode Island statutes have been demonstrated to protect customers from untrained practitioners and give estheticians the confidence needed to thrive.
How to Get Your RI Esthetician’s License Renewed
After learning how to get a skin care license in RI and starting your career, it is important to maintain your license if you want to keep working in this position in this state. Rhode Island requires all esthetics professionals to renew their licenses in the month of October every two years. The renewal fee is currently set at $25 and there are no continuing education requirements.
An RI esthetician license can help you get involved in one of the most exciting specialties in the field of beauty. The training you get is a big part of your success, so compare Rhode Island esthetics schools below.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Rhode Island
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.