Esthetics Licensing in North Dakota
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in North Dakota
If people always compliment you on your makeup, your sense of style, and the health of your skin, you may be naturally gifted in the area of skin care. While everyone wants to have healthy skin, very few people can select a skin care routine and makeup look that brings out their best features.
Why not use your natural talents in your career? The beauty industry has room for highly trained esthetics professionals who can meet the needs of clients. To start preparing for a new career, you’ll need to learn about the process of earning a North Dakota esthetician license. Like every other beauty career in the state, esthetics has extensive training expectations. Any school that prepares students for licensure must cover the following topics:
• Sterilization, safety, and sanitation (75 hours)
• Facials, hair removal, body treatments, and makeup (340 hours)
• Theory, law, and ethics (75 hours)
• Related esthetics subjects (60 hours)
Each school has 50 unassigned hours that they can use to provide students with extra training, cover new techniques, or go on field trips. In this part of your education, you may cover topics like:
• Airbrush makeup and makeup for special events
• Massage techniques for the face
• Client consultation and consent
As you ask how do I get my esthetics license in North Dakota? you should get started by finding out how you can complete your training. With our list of schools below, check out local options and reach out to schools in North Dakota.
North Dakota Esthetician License Requirements
Since this field is part of the beauty industry, its laws and standards are regulated by the North Dakota Board of Cosmetology. You should be able to move fairly quickly through the licensing process once you finish your education. The fees and requirements listed here are part of North Dakota cosmetology law:
• $50 practical testing fee and $130 written testing fee
• $15 licensing fee
• Fees paid by credit card, cashier’s check, money order, or business check
• 600 hours of training required
Esthetician license requirements in ND protect the beauty industry from unskilled practitioners, help clients find practitioners that are properly trained and assessed, and give you a simple way of demonstrating the depth of your training. Meeting these requirements should help you get established in your career.
How to Get Your ND Esthetician’s License Renewed
Your initial license gives you the right to work as an esthetician through the end of the calendar year. However, due to renewal requirements in North Dakota, you must renew your license each year by December 31. The current renewal fee in North Dakota is $15. You do not have to complete any continuing education, but after your first renewal cycle, you may find that it’s an excellent way to update your skills and refresh your knowledge.
The training you earn at a North Dakota beauty school can help you get your ND esthetics license. Make your move and request information from esthetics programs in North Dakota.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in North Dakota
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.