Esthetics Licensing in New Mexico
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in New Mexico
As the beauty industry has grown over the years, it has expanded to include many new job titles and responsibilities. This gives you the chance to choose a licensure program that meets your career goals.
Making the choice to focus on skin care gives you the opportunity to learn about skin procedures, facials, makeup application, and other areas of skin care. This route is often much quicker than earning a full cosmetology license. If this area of cosmetology interests you, you’ll need to attend an approved school in New Mexico. New Mexico programs must follow these curricular standards:
• Theory: State laws and regulations, professional image, first aid, and ethics (75 hours)
• Sterilization, safety, sanitation, and infection control (75 hours)
• Facials: Anatomy, physiology, massage, electrical appliances, eyelash application, hair removal, and eyebrow tinting (350 hours)
• Salon business management and theory (50 hours)
• 50 basic facial procedures
• 25 machine facial procedures
• 25 waxing procedures
• 10 makeup procedures
After you account for the hours listed above, there are 50 hours left in your skin care program. It is up to each instructor to use these as they choose. Some options include:
• Field trips to esthetics events
• Massage theory
• Light therapy
• Client consultation
Choosing a great school can make it much easier for you to get your skin care license in New Mexico. Discover what your next step is by requesting information from skin care programs in New Mexico.
New Mexico Esthetician License Requirements
The field of esthetics is overseen by the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. As you learn how to get an esthetician license in NM, you have to meet certain qualifications and pay a variety of fees, which are listed here:
• $50 licensing fee
• $100 testing fee
• Fees paid by cashier’s check or money order
• 600 hours of training required
• Tests may be taken in English and Spanish
Not only does your New Mexico esthetician license benefit your career, it is actually important to New Mexico consumers and the beauty industry as a whole. These standards built a strong reputation for the beauty industry and make it easier for clients to trust the professionals they choose for their beauty needs.
How to Get Your New Mexico Esthetics License Renewed
No matter where you work after getting your license, you must stay on top of licensing requirements in the state you work in. NM esthetician license requirements cover the renewal process, which is a bit more challenging than it is in other states. New Mexico requires annual renewal. To avoid late fees, you must renew your license every year by the last day of your birth month. Each year, you pay a renewal fee of $50. No continuing education units are currently required.
If you want the freedom to work in lots of different beauty settings and meet the needs of a range of clients, you could find exactly what you’re looking for in the field of skin care. Finding the right training program is the first step. Compare esthetics programs below and contact schools that interest you.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in New Mexico
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.