Home FAQ Licensing Information Esthetician Licensing Esthetics Licensing in Montana

Esthetics Licensing in Montana



Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Montana

Are you great at keeping your cool in a fast-paced work environment and changing up your work to meet client standards? Would you thrive in a career where you get to do something different every day and constantly learn new skills?

If this describes you, a Montana esthetician license may be in your future. Like other beauty specialties, esthetics has changed a lot in recent years, giving consumers a wide variety of affordable skin care options. Your daily duties may include facials, makeup application, hair removal, and eyelash application, to name a few.

Since this specialty is so diverse, you’ll discover that there’s quite a bit to learn as you find out how to get an esthetician license in Montana.

To meet state laws and requirements, all approved Montana esthetician programs must thoroughly teach these topics:
• Bacteriology, sanitation, sterilization, and safety
• Anatomy and physiology
• Diseases and disorders of the skin
• Massage
• Skin care
• Makeup application
• Facials
• Artificial eyelashes
• Eyelash and eyebrow tinting
• Skin exfoliation
• Waxing
• Salon management and business methods

Of all the time you spend in school, only 65 hours must cover the theory of esthetics. The rest can be assigned to practical experience, client procedures, and hands-on practice. In addition, each program has 160 hours to use at their discretion.

Depending on the needs of your community and your instructor’s strengths, you may also cover topics like:
• Airbrush makeup and special event makeup
• Specialized types of facials using different equipment
• Natural exfoliation and cleansing methods

A Montana skin care program can provide you with the well-rounded education you need to succeed in the beauty industry. Check out your training options now by requesting information from esthetics programs in Montana.

Montana Esthetician License Requirements

Since each state sets its own cosmetology and esthetics licensing requirements, you’ll need to meet the standards of the Montana State Board of Cosmetology. Esthetician license requirements in MT outline training expectations, the testing process, and keeping your license valid.

You must pass a written test and a skills test to qualify for licensure as an esthetician in MT, which means meeting these expectations:
• $80 licensing fee
• Fees paid by credit card
• 650 hours of training required
• Testing offered through DL Roope

The licensing process is fairly straightforward if you prepare for each step ahead of time. In exchange for meeting these requirements, you get to become part of the local beauty community and use your license to further your career.

How to Get Your Montana Esthetician’s License Renewed

Montana’s renewal process is on par with what other states require. You’ll need to renew your license by March 1 every two years. On top of your application, you must send in a renewal fee of $80. The Montana State Board of Cosmetology requires 30 hours of continuing education during each renewal period. Only 12 of these hours may come from trade shows.

Are you ready to get established in the cosmetology industry and explore the science of skin care? Begin the path to an MT esthetics license now by contacting Montana esthetics schools.

Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Montana

Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

Billings, MT
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Barbering / Nail Technology / Teacher Training
Kalispell, MT
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Nail Technology / Teacher Training
Billings, MT
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Barbering / Nail Technology / Massage Therapy / Teacher Training
Great Falls, MT
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Barbering / Nail Technology / Massage Therapy / Teacher Training
Billings, MT
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Nail Technology
Missoula, MT
Esthetics/Skin Care / Teacher Training
Missoula, MT
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Nail Technology / Teacher Training
School Accreditation

You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.