Esthetics Programs in Missouri
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Missouri
If you are interested in a beauty career, you may discover the many specialties and areas of study that make up this industry. This is a big benefit of the beauty industry—you can choose a career path and license that best suits your interests.
The field of esthetics is one where you can make a big difference in your client’s lives. People with imperfect skin may often feel embarrassed of their skin and helpless about ever fixing it. By completing a skin care program in Missouri, you can completely change how people view themselves.
You do have to meet standardized educational requirements before you can get your license.
In Missouri, the following topics are required at all certified skin care schools:
• Cleansing and toning
• Facial massage
• Makeup application
• Hair removal
• Body wraps
• Body treatments
• Skin science, structure, and conditions
• Product chemistry and ingredients
• Sanitation and sterilization
• Missouri law
Advanced topics may also be part of your curriculum. Your school may teach these subjects to get you ready for work in high-end spas and salons:
• Laser hair removal
• Airbrush makeup
Getting familiar with Missouri esthetician license requirements can help you move through this process as quickly as possible. Contact esthetics schools below to compare training options.
Missouri Esthetician License Requirements
Cosmetology and beauty-related careers are licensed on a state-by-state basis. That is why all of your licensing documents and fees must go through the Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. They set training requirements, licensure fees, and licensing schedules for all beauty careers, including esthetics.
They allow you to take your skin care licensing exams after you provide proof of your education and submit an application. These expectations are part of the licensing and testing process in Missouri:
• $150 testing fee; $90 theory testing fee and $60 practical testing fee
• $100 application/initial licensure fee
• Fees paid by MasterCard, Visa, and Discover
• 750 hours of training or 1500 apprenticeship hours required
Ever since cosmetology became a regulated field, the industry has grown and seen many benefits from these requirements. Licensing standards promote trust in this industry, streamline the hiring process for employers and job seekers, and standardize education across the state. Following the laws and statutes for a Missouri esthetician license strengthens this industry.
How to Get Your Missouri Esthetician’s License Renewed
The final part of esthetician license requirements in MO covers the renewal schedule, process, and education requirements. Like most other states, Missouri requires you to renew your license every two years to keep it valid. No continuing education requirements are upheld in Missouri. The licensing fee is currently just $30.
Now that you know how an MO esthetician license can help you jump start a new career, get started on the next step of your beauty career. Request information from esthetics programs in Missouri to begin.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Missouri
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.