Esthetics Licensing in Mississippi
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Mississippi
The beauty industry is known for its continuous improvements in technology, procedures, and products. Not only does this make beauty professionals’ jobs easier, it allows them to offer a greater variety of services to clients.
Esthetics is a specialty that has really benefited from technology in recent years. Thanks to new products and tools, clients can get healthy, glowing skin in many different ways. With all of the change going on in this field, this is an exciting time to become an esthetician in Mississippi.
Curious if a career in esthetics is right for you? To get started, you need to enroll in an approved program that offers esthetician training in the following areas:
• Infection control, safety, and hygiene
• Anatomy and physiology
• Chemistry and electricity
• Ethics and conduct
• Mississippi laws and rules
• Business skills
• Skin science
• Facial treatments
• Facial massage
• Facial machines
• Makeup application
• Hair removal
To get your license, you must complete at least 100 hours of theory education and at least 500 hours of practical training. In your esthetics program, you may take courses like:
• Ethics and Standards in Skin Care
• Client Consultation and Education
• Documentation of Skin Care Procedures
• Makeup Brushes and Tools
• Color Theory and Pigmentation
Earning a Mississippi esthetician license can completely change your life and your career opportunities. Keep reading to learn more about MS esthetician license requirements and contact schools on our list below.
Mississippi Esthetician License Requirements
The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology is the licensing agency for estheticians, cosmetologists, and all other licensed beauty careers in the state of Mississippi. The curriculum outline above covers their educational requirements.
However, there are a few more steps you have to go through to get your Mississippi esthetician license. You can submit your testing application after you finish your education.
When you are approved to test, you must pay the following esthetician licensing fees and meet the following expectations:
• $50 licensing fee
• $183 testing fee
• Fees paid by MasterCard, Visa, and Discover
• 600 hours of training required
Although this may seem like a fairly lengthy process, it improves work conditions in the beauty industry in many ways. Licensing standards protect the title of esthetician and prevent untrained people from using it to attract unsuspecting clients. As a result, you do not have to share your job title with those with little or no training.
In addition, licensure gives you an easy way to demonstrate the amount and quality of your training to potential employers and clients. This is especially helpful when you are just getting started in the industry.
How to Get Your Mississippi Esthetician’s License Renewed
Your initial Mississippi esthetics license is good for up to two years, at which point you must renew your license with every other Mississippi esthetician. The renewal fee is currently $50, but it goes up significantly if you renew late. You do not have to complete any continuing education to keep your license valid, but it is still a good idea to attend continuing education events and advance your career.
Whether you want to work in a small family owned salon or a high-end hotel spa, your esthetics career can begin right here. Just check out our list of Mississippi esthetics programs below and contact programs near you to find out how to get a skin care license in MS.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Mississippi
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.