Esthetics Licensing in Massachusetts
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Massachusetts
If you can make someone’s skin look healthy, you can make them look good. In fact, many people believe that youthful skin is the most important part of beauty. However, there are many differences in skin’s texture, coloring, and sensitivities. It can be difficult for people to figure out exactly what their skin needs and how to create the right skin care routine.
With an education in skincare, you can prepare to earn your Massachusetts esthetician license. This lets you put your knowledge to work and spend your days working with skin care products, makeup, and cosmetology technology. Compared to other states, Massachusetts has fairly relaxed license requirements.
However, you must meet these training standards to move onto the next step of the esthetician licensing process:
• Anatomy and physiology (10 hours)
• Skin disorders and diseases (10 hours)
• Cosmetic chemistry ingredients and product knowledge (25 hours)
• Sterilization, sanitation, and bacteriology (30 hours)
• Management, laws, communication, and ethics (20 hours)
• Massage (35 hours)
• Makeup and product sales (25 hours)
• Electricity and equipment (10 hours)
• Hair removal, eyebrow tinting, and eyelash tinting (30 hours)
• Clinical practice and procedures (105 hours)
These subjects are covered in a variety of courses, the specific names of which are decided by each school.
When you start checking out esthetics programs in Massachusetts, you may also find general courses like:
• Communicating with Clients
• Contraindications for Esthetics Procedures
• Massachusetts Laws and Statutes
Education is one of the biggest esthetics license requirements in MA, so it is essential to find a great program. You can find a training program that meets your needs with our list of esthetics programs in Massachusetts below.
Massachusetts Esthetician License Requirements
Getting your MA esthetician license is the end goal of your skin care education, so you should be familiar with the requirements of the Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering. They check your educational credentials, your test scores, and all other paperwork you submit to verify that you meet their licensing standards.
The following esthetician licensing fees and standards are enforced in Massachusetts:
• $68 application fee
• $120 testing fee
• Fees paid by check or money order
• 300 hours of training required
• Tests available in English, Spanish and Vietnamese
As you may know, cosmetology and its specialties are licensed on a state-by-state basis. However, even if licensure requirements are extremely different between states, they are very important. They uphold the good reputation of the beauty industry by protecting licensed job titles and ensuring that all practitioners meet a base set of standards. This may result in greater trust from clients and potential employers.
How to Get Your Massachusetts Esthetician’s License Renewed
When you meet all MA esthetician license requirements and get your license in your hand, you are finally ready to start your career. After the initial licensing process, it is fairly easy to keep working in Massachusetts.
Simply renew your license every two years by your birthday. Massachusetts, like many other states, does not require renewing estheticians to have any continuing education hours. However, you do have to pay a fee of $60.
Skin care is one of the fastest growing beauty specialties in the United States. Take advantage of this opportunity now by requesting information from esthetics programs in Massachusetts.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Massachusetts
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.