Esthetics Licensing in Maine
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Maine
When you look at pictures of celebrities, the first thing you notice is their glowing skin. Some celebrities seem to never age at all, their skin staying free of wrinkles and age spots year after year. How does that happen? Celebrities have access to high-quality estheticians and skin care services.
There’s no doubt that esthetics services can change a person’s appearance and self-esteem. If you are looking for a beauty career that really lets you make a difference, consider attending an esthetics program in Maine. This is the first step to earning a Maine esthetics license.
There is plenty of room for differences in Maine esthetics programs, but there are also many similarities.
To meet state guidelines, cosmetology schools with esthetics programs must cover these subjects:
• History of skin care and cosmetics
• Sterilization and sanitation
• Chemistry, bacteriology, and body systems
• Anatomy, physiology, and histology of skin
• Skin disorders, skin diseases, and skin analysis
• Skin cleansing
• Client preparation
• Massage techniques
• Mask therapy
• Skin treatments with and without use of machines
• Hair removal
• Electricity, machines, and apparatus
• Business management
• Human relations
• Maine cosmetology laws and rules
Each school may have its own areas of focus, which gives you the chance to select a school that fits in well with what you want to learn. While working toward a Maine esthetician license, you’ll likely learn more about:
• Waxing for the face and body
• Skin care products for different skin textures and needs
• Technology in esthetics
Ready to jump into your education and start a new career? Take the first steps now by contacting esthetics programs in Maine.
Maine Esthetician License Requirements
Your training program may take several months. When you get close to graduation, you should learn how to get a skin care license in ME. This process requires you to pass a written test and a skills test before getting your license. All paperwork goes through the Maine Department of Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing.
They have set the following requirements and fees for esthetics licensing:
• $20 student permit fee
• $25 licensing fee
• $41 testing fee
• Fees paid by check or credit card
• 600 hours of training or 1000 apprenticeship hours required
There are several reasons that this licensing process is in place. First, it makes it much easier for you to get professional liability insurance, which is especially important when you are working with the tools and products used in skin care. Second, it prevents people from harming clients and moving their business from state to state without being caught. Clearly, licensing is a good move for you and your clients.
How to Get Your Maine Esthetician’s License Renewed
Maintaining your ME esthetics license Is legally required if you want to continue your career in Maine. Maine is one of the few states that requires annual renewal of cosmetology licenses.
Your renewal materials must be submitted by the last day of October every year. The current renewal fee is only $20. There are no continuing education requirements in this state.
If you want to make your mark on the world of beauty, an esthetics license is the first step. Check out your options now with our list of esthetics programs in Maine.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Maine
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.