Esthetics Licensing in Kansas
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Kansas
Skin care is evolving all the time. Just look at the skin care section of any drugstore or beauty specialty store—there are dozens of products and formulations that didn’t exist five years ago! That’s why the field of esthetics is such a good opportunity for you if you want to make a name for yourself in beauty. Estheticians can meet the growing needs of Kansas customers.
Ready to start learning more about skin health and appearance? Your first stop is an approved Kansas beauty program that focuses on esthetics.
In order to legally qualify for licensure in Kansas, your curriculum must meet these statewide standards:
• Infection control, public health, sanitation, universal precautions, and blood borne pathogens (60 hours)
• Skin anatomy and physiology (200 hours)
• Skin analysis and consultation (120 hours)
• Skin treatments, including exfoliation, cleansing, extraction, conditioning, masque therapy, and facials (240 hours)
• Body treatments, including wraps, exfoliation, and hydrotherapy (40 hours)
• Advanced skin treatments, including advanced exfoliation, microdermabrasion, chemical exfoliation, microcurrent, and LED equipment (140 hours)
• Temporary hair removal (40 hours)
• Makeup (60 hours)
• Business practices (30 hours)
• State law (20 hours)
Once your program has met the above requirements, your instructors have 50 hours that they can use as they choose.
Although there are some differences between schools, you can expect to study the following topics:
• Skin types and conditions
• Contraindications for esthetics procedures
• Cosmetic chemistry
With knowledge and experience in skin care, you may be ready to join one of the fastest growing beauty specialties in Kansas. Take the first step now by contacting Kansas esthetics programs.
Kansas Esthetician License Requirements
Your training may take you several months to complete. Once you are done, you can go through the Kansas Board of Cosmetology to get your KS esthetics license. This process does require a fair amount of paperwork, testing, and fees.
Part of learning how to get a skin care license in KS is meeting these expectations:
• Practical exam fee of $75 and written exam fee of $75
• Fees paid by credit card, cashier’s check, or money order
• $45 license application fee
• 1000 training hours required
• Exams offered in English only through Ergometrics
Although this process may take several weeks, it pays off in the long run. The Kansas Board of Cosmetology has such strict licensing requirements because these requirements keep untrained or undertrained skin care professionals from weakening the reputation of the beauty industry. As a result, it may be easier for you to find work and clients.
How to Get Your Kansas Esthetician’s License Renewed
Upon receiving your Kansas esthetician license, you can begin working. If you plan on working in the state of Kansas for more than two years, you’ll need to go through at least one renewal cycle. After asking how do I get my esthetics license in Kansas? you can find out how to keep your license up-to-date and valid.
License renewal documents and fees are due every two years by the last day of your birth month. Kansas is one of many states that does not require any continuing education. Currently, the renewal fee is $45.
As the beauty industry grows to keep up with demand, you can expect the field of esthetics to change dramatically. Become part of it now by checking out esthetics programs in Kansas.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Kansas
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.