Home FAQ Licensing Information Esthetician Licensing Esthetics Licensing in Hawaii

Esthetics Licensing in Hawaii



Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Hawaii

If there’s any place in the United States where estheticians are necessary, it’s Hawaii! Hawaii has many spas and resorts where people love to get pampered—some of these facilities are among the best known in the entire world. With your Hawaii esthetics license, you can offer services like facials, face and neck massages, facial toning, face masks, professional makeup application, and microdermabrasion.

Whether you want to work in a high-end spa with tourists or a local salon that caters to local skin care needs, your career must begin in the same way: education. When you learn how to get an esthetician license in Hawaii, you’ll find that you need to attend a program that is approved by the Hawaii Department of Professional and Vocational Licensing.

They require Hawaii esthetics programs to fully instruct students on the following subjects:

• Infection control and bacteriology
• Client consultation
• Professional ethics and appearance
• Establishment safety
• Business management
• Structure and function of skin
• Growth and regeneration of skin
• Conditions, disorders, and diseases
• Anatomy and physiology
• Skin analysis
• Chemistry
• Product knowledge
• Facial benefits, analysis, massage, and purpose
• Hair removal, including waxing, tweezing, depilatories
• Makeup
• Safety measures
• State laws and regulations

As you look at different esthetics schools, you may find that course titles don’t echo what is listed above. The topics required in Hawaii may be taught in various courses.
Course titles you may find include:

• Esthetics Lab and Clinic
• Facial Tools and Equipment
• Makeup Application Techniques

A thorough education is the foundation for your career. Take some time to check out your options on our list of Hawaii esthetics programs!

Hawaii Esthetician License Requirements

As an esthetician, you have access to tools and chemicals that may be dangerous when used incorrectly. To ensure that you are completely prepared for this role, Hawaii esthetician license requirements include quite a bit of paperwork. You must submit proof of your education and pass a background check before taking your licensing exams. Esthetician licensure is regulated by the Department of Professional and Vocational Licensing.

Throughout this process, the following HI esthetician licensing guidelines should be kept in mind:

• $20 application fee
• $40 temporary license fee
• $90 testing fee
• Check to Commerce and Consumer Affairs
• 600 training hours or 1200 apprenticeship hours
• Testing goes through Prometric

Having a license is extremely beneficial to you, to the beauty industry, and to the people who use your services. Employers and clients generally find it much easier to assess an esthetician when they are licensed, since licensure requires a specific set of skills. In addition, licensure makes it easier for you to obtain professional liability insurance.

How to Get Your Hawaii Esthetician’s License Renewed

Esthetician license requirements in Hawaii also cover the renewal process. It is fairly straightforward in Hawaii; by December 31 of every odd-numbered year, submit your renewal application. This allows you to continue practicing for another two years. There are no continuing education requirements in Hawaii at this time.

As an esthetician, you can help people uncover their true beauty and build their self-esteem at the same time. Get started now and check out esthetics programs in Hawaii.

Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Hawaii

Find Cosmetology Schools Near You

Kailua-Kona, HI
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Nail Technology / Hair Design / Teacher Training
Honolulu, HI
Esthetics/Skin Care / Nail Technology / Permanent Make-Up
Kahului, HI
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Barbering / Nail Technology / Massage Therapy / Hair Design / Teacher Training
Honolulu, HI
Esthetics/Skin Care
Honolulu, HI
Esthetics/Skin Care / Permanent Make-Up
School Accreditation

You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.