Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Florida
Ready to reinvent the world of beauty in Florida? You’re in the right place. Florida is known for adopting new beauty trends and making them their own. With a passion for cosmetology, you can take your career in a variety of ways.
Skin care is a big opportunity in this industry. Healthy, well-kept skin can make anyone look their best. If you’d like to learn how to use the latest technology and products to improve the appearance of skin, then a Florida esthetician license may be the right choice for you.
Before you can get your license, you have to complete a state-approved esthetics training course.
Any approved esthetics program in Florida must cover certain topics, listed here with their minimum training hours:
• Theory: Florida laws and rules, HIV and AIDS, sanitation, ethics, electricity, facial contraindications, product chemistry, skin theory (85 hours) • Facials, including mechanical and manual (40 hours) • Set up and use of electrical devices (1.25 hours) • Hair removal (5 hours) • Makeup application (5 hours) • Eyelash application (10 hours) • Lash and brow tinting (5 hours) • Manual extractions (1.25 hours)
In each of these topics, your instructors can decide some of the specific skills and topics that they cover. Your esthetics curriculum may explore subjects like:
• Contouring with makeup • European facials • Specialized skin care for different skin types
The future of beauty starts with skin care that emphasizes smooth, healthy, clear skin. Get started in your esthetics career by contacting schools that can help you meet Florida esthetician license requirements.
Florida Esthetician License Requirements
Since every state has its own licensing requirements, you may want to learn about earning a skin care license in Florida if you plan on working in this state. Upon completing your education, you need to submit proof of your training to the Florida Board of Cosmetology, which is part of the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Once your education has been verified, you can register to take your FL esthetician license exam.
Be ready to meet the following esthetician licensing standards and pay the fees listed here:
• $50 testing fee • $40 registration fee • Pay fees via check • 260 hours of training required
It is extremely important to follow these licensing standards exactly. If you do not, you may suffer a delay in getting your license. These requirements were originally created to standardize the type of training given to estheticians and ensure that beauty professionals all over the state have the same set of skills. This makes it easier for you to seek employment and demonstrate your skills to potential clients.
How to Get Your Florida Esthetician’s License Renewed
When you get your Florida esthetics license, you will be assigned to Group 1 or Group 2. Group 1 licensees must renew their licenses by October 31 in even-numbered years. Group 2 licensees must renew their licenses by October 31 and odd-numbered years. The group you are assigned to depends on when you get your license. Regardless, you must complete 16 hours of continuing education during each renewal cycle.
The field of esthetics is constantly changing. If you get started in this field now, you’ll get the chance to learn new skills as they are developed. Find out more by requesting information from esthetics programs in Florida.
Cosmetology / Esthetics/Skin Care / Nail Technology / Barbering
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.