Esthetics Licensing in Colorado
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Colorado
When you decide on a career in the beauty industry, you get to look forward to a career in a field that’s always evolving. Every year, there are new products and technological advances that give you the chance to expand your skills. If you want to improve people’s looks in a very important way, look at a career in esthetics. Esthetics is a field that focuses on improving skin tone, texture, and other features.
The state of Colorado regulates estheticians and requires all aspiring skin care specialists to get licensed by the Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure. Once you meet the Colorado esthetician license requirements, you can start your exciting new career. High-quality, in-depth training is essential to this field!
All esthetician schools approved in Colorado must meet the following standards:
• Sanitation, sterilization, and safety (70 hours)
• Electricity, chemistry, and light therapy (235 hours)
• Massage, skin care, and makeup (175 hours)
• Laws, rules, and regulations (25 hours)
• Management, ethics, and interpersonal communication (25 hours)
• Occupational safety and health (20 hours)
Within each subject, there are many advanced topics. In these courses, you learn the skills that clients expect you to have. Each program has 50 unassigned hours that your instructor may use as they wish. In addition, you can complete a 14-hour microdermabrasion class to get licensed in microdermabrasion.
Your classes may prepare you for a beauty career by covering the following topics:
• Facials and skin care
• Facial makeup
• Hair removal
Everyone wants to look young, so a career in skin care can give you a huge base of possible clients.
Learn more about becoming an esthetician by contacting esthetics programs in Colorado.
Colorado Esthetician License Requirements
Throughout your career, you’ll need to follow the standards and laws established by the Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure. Once you finish your education, you can register to take your written and practical esthetics exams.
This process includes the following expectations and fees:
• $71 practical testing fee and $56 written testing fee
• $28 application fee
• Fees paid by cashier’s check, money order, or company check
• 600 training hours required or 20 credit hours required
• Testing available only in English
In any state, beauty careers are carefully regulated. This benefits clients because it requires all beauty practitioners to meet specific training standards. This strengthens the reputation and trustworthiness of the cosmetology industry, which may help you get established as an esthetician.
How to Get Your Colorado Esthetician’s License Renewed
After you get your Colorado esthetician license, you may begin working in licensed spas and salons in this state. To continue your career, you must meet the CO esthetics license renewal requirements. Renewal applications must be submitted by the last day of March in every even-numbered year. The current renewal fee is $32. Colorado, like many other states, does not require any continuing education for estheticians.
As an esthetician, you have the chance to do a lot of good for the people in your community. If you start training right away, you could earn your license in a matter of months.
Get started on your CO esthetics license now by requesting information from esthetics programs in Colorado.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Colorado
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.